Hukilau Sails the Sound

Solo after work

12 August 2015
On Friday, August 7, I decided to go out for a sail after work. I knew that I wouldn't get a chance to go again during the weekend as we were going into NYC on Saturday for Lily's birthday, and Sunday was supposed to be less than beautiful.

The weather on Friday certainly cooperated. It was about 80 degrees and sunny. I wondered if the breeze might be a bit too full, but it turned out fabulous. I left the dock about 5 pm, and put up the full genny and unreefed main. Out in the Sound, I really started to heel. I headed almost directly south and was really moving. I don't think I was ever going slower than 4.5 knots, and often going close to 6. Just magnificent. With that much breeze, you could really see that the lee shrouds were too loose. I have to ask Ed how they determine if the shrouds are correctly tensioned.

I had told Patti that I would be home about 7:30 for GF Chinese food, so at about 6, I turned around to sail back. The ride in was just as sweet. I doused sail in the outer harbor and docked without incident. I wound up leaving the marina at about 7:15.
Comments
Vessel Name: Hukilau
Vessel Make/Model: Catalina 28
Hailing Port: Branford, Conn.