Hukilau Sails the Sound

Father's Day 2017

19 June 2017
Lily came home for Father's Day! Still no engine (I missed Glen's call on Saturday to go see what's going on with the engine), but we decided to go to the boat anyway, just to visit.

My new lifelines were on! They looked great. I went to undo the pelican hook on the stern pushpit, and to my surprise, instead of just the section to the next stanchion moving, the entire line all the way to the pulpit went down. This is exactly what I had hoped to avoid. I wanted the lines forward of that stanchion to be separate from the aftermost section of line, which would be removable. Arrgh. I need to talk to Brian and see what we can do about this.

Anyway, we did some boat cleaning, with Lily scrubbing the deck, and me cleaning in the cabin. I think we're ready to go sailing. All we need is the engine. Hopefully, the unit can be fixed quickly and economically. Fingers crossed.
Comments
Vessel Name: Hukilau
Vessel Make/Model: Catalina 28
Hailing Port: Branford, Conn.