Cruising to Calm

" I've learned that making a 'living' is not the same as 'making a life'." Maya Angelou. This is the story of the Brown family adventure. We have pulled roots in NY and are taking our two kids ages 4 & 1 on a five year cruise. This is our story

23 February 2011 | Vava'u Tonga
07 October 2010
29 August 2010 | Neiafu, Tonga
30 June 2010 | Eauiki Island
01 April 2010 | Tonga
19 March 2010 | Tonga
23 February 2010 | Neiafu, Tonga
12 February 2010 | Tonga
10 February 2010 | Neiafu, Tonga
26 January 2010 | Neiafu, Tonga
20 January 2010
01 January 2010 | Pago pago American Samoa
12 December 2009
27 November 2009 | Suvarrov
02 November 2009 | Palmerston
26 October 2009
23 October 2009 | Nowhere
13 October 2009
26 September 2009

Schools in Session

26 January 2010 | Neiafu, Tonga
Just a quick blog to fill everyone in, because it seems like things have moved quickly since arriving in Neiafu last Thurday.

The town itself is cute with lots of little restaurants, coffeehouses and boutiques however; most are closed because of the off season, which is fine by me. There are enough places open hosting different activities to keep us occupied and a nice mix of cruisers but not so many that we feel overwhelmed. Plus I like having the time to chat with the people that live here, which during their busy season they all assure me is not always possible.. Most of the businesses here are run by expats, which brings a nice mix into the town.
The Vavau group of Tonga is known for whale watching. The humpback whales come here from Antarctica to mate and calve between July and November. I don't know the specifics yet but when I do will write about it. It is also a big dive destination and one of the five best cruising grounds in the world. There are 150 islands all within anywhere from a fifteen minute sail to a few hours. People have been raving to us about the other islands within the group but thus far we have stayed tied to a mooring in town arranging sail repairs and looking into schools. I use to word town loosely, it is a small town not in any way big enough to pollute the water which is beautiful, clean and refreshing.

This brings me to the exciting news. Ben started school today! (see photos) He is now a student at the Tongan Side School which is the private English speaking school. School started on Monday and his first day was today Wednesday. He has to wear a uniform of gray shorts, shirt (which a woman here makes), brown belt and brown sandals. The Tongan school teaches from the New Zealand curriculum so he is in Level 3. The school, from what I have heard is quite strict. The students MUST mind the teacher or there are real consequences. Also the students work keeping the school clean (cleaning bathrooms, picking up garbage outside, helping plant and maintain the gardens). School starts at 8:20 ends at 3:20. Students must pack a lunch and there is NO junk food allowed (juice is considered junk food). Children are only allowed to drink water; anything the teacher thinks is junk food will be confiscated. Today's lunch was a pb&j, banana and apple.
The school is private but I think the prices are very reasonable there was a twenty dollar enrollment fee ($13.00US) and tuition is $79.00paanga per year but that is about $40.00US. So for a year is costs $75.00 US for the year with books included This is quite a bit for the local Tongan though as they make only 2.50 pa'anga an hour.
His teachers name is Miss Tonga, easy enough to remember, thankfully. In Tonga teachers are revered and their standing in society is similar to that of the priest. It is not viewed that the teacher works for you or answers to the parent. Essentially, you work on their schedule and suck up to them as much as possible. Fine by me. After homeschooling I even more admiration and respect for teachers. I think it should be mandatory for all parents to homeschool their kids for at least three weeks. I guarantee teachers would get a 1,000% raise and more time off. Hands down one of the hardest jobs. Anyway, I am digressing.

Ben is beyond excited. He told me last night that he probably won't want me to walk him everyday because he will want to go with his friends. He was so brave this morning with all the kids circling around him staring at him. He stuck close to me and Sam as well. They have become so close it breaks my heart. Anyway, I am so proud of Ben and the little man that he is becoming. I am just brimming with pride for the way the boys handle themselves.

We are very much enjoying Tonga thus far and it seems I may have found the community I have been craving. I don't now how long we will be here but I think most likely for the duration of hurricane season so a few months.Sam starts at the little Kindergarten next week which is just down the road from Ben. Funny, I have never been without my children before. Sam is also excited. Anyway, I have to run at will write again once I get a full report from Ben.
Comments
Vessel Name: Independence
Vessel Make/Model: 44 ft St Francis Catamaran
Hailing Port: New York
About: Curtis/Otis, Jenny, Ben (5), Sam (2)
Extra: " I've learned that making a 'living' is not the same as 'making a life'." This is the story of the Brown family adventure. My husband, Otis and I(Jenny) are taking our two children(Ben and Sam) on a sailing adventure.
Home Page: www.sailingindependence.com

The Brown Family

Port: New York