Cruising to Calm

" I've learned that making a 'living' is not the same as 'making a life'." Maya Angelou. This is the story of the Brown family adventure. We have pulled roots in NY and are taking our two kids ages 4 & 1 on a five year cruise. This is our story

23 February 2011 | Vava'u Tonga
07 October 2010
29 August 2010 | Neiafu, Tonga
30 June 2010 | Eauiki Island
01 April 2010 | Tonga
19 March 2010 | Tonga
23 February 2010 | Neiafu, Tonga
12 February 2010 | Tonga
10 February 2010 | Neiafu, Tonga
26 January 2010 | Neiafu, Tonga
20 January 2010
01 January 2010 | Pago pago American Samoa
12 December 2009
27 November 2009 | Suvarrov
02 November 2009 | Palmerston
26 October 2009
23 October 2009 | Nowhere
13 October 2009
26 September 2009

Cyclone Rene

12 February 2010 | Tonga
Looks like Cyclone Rene is on a direct path to Tonga. Her arrival is predicted within seventy two hours, this is subject to change but we are stripping Indy to prepare. Sails off(they were anyway), stack pack gone, bimini down, grill dismantled, halyards pulled. A friend is going to dive our mooring and put extra lines/chain and tackle to the existing mooring thus giving us extra protection. Basically Indy will be a shell. I am even contemplating putting foam on her windows because people keep talking about the coconuts that go flying around at 100mph, although the foam would most likely blow away too..but it maybe worth a go.

Many, not all, of course but a sick few in the harbor are abuzz with some type of weird/demented excitement. I feel anxiety and nausea when I think about the storm. I have not ventured into town much or listened to the radio because cannot stand to listen to the scaremongers. One guy on the radio this morning called out a specific(obviously not Indy) catamaran and said they would "probably flip over for sure" as would most other catamarans in the harbor. What a jackass. I was trying to call in to reprimand him for his irresponsible/uneducated and downright ignorant comment when O returned and talked me off the ledge. That is the problem , you get these idiots with way too much time on their hands, a little information, a forum and suddenly they are an expert..ugh. Anyway, I can't get started on that. O and I just laugh at them most of the time.
O will most likely stay on Indy and I will go someplace with the kids, not sure where yet. I HATE leaving O onboard alone, but if it is bad I do not want to put the kids in harms way or frighten them. Tomorrow I will provision veggies and other staples just in case. Neaifu is a nice protected harbor hopefully this will be fine.

Anyway, just a quick update. I am hoping like hell that this thing falls off and misses us. You can track it online at www.tropicalstormrisk.com
will keep you posted.

New blog posted below
Comments
Vessel Name: Independence
Vessel Make/Model: 44 ft St Francis Catamaran
Hailing Port: New York
About: Curtis/Otis, Jenny, Ben (5), Sam (2)
Extra: " I've learned that making a 'living' is not the same as 'making a life'." This is the story of the Brown family adventure. My husband, Otis and I(Jenny) are taking our two children(Ben and Sam) on a sailing adventure.
Home Page: www.sailingindependence.com

The Brown Family

Port: New York