The Intrepid Seadog

The salty adventures of a canine first mate

06 June 2010 | White Sound, Green Turtle Cay, Abacos, Bahamas
10 June 2008 | Fishers Bay, Great Guana Cay
25 May 2008 | Green Turtle Cay
21 May 2008 | White Sound, Green Turtle Cay
17 May 2008 | West End, Grand Bahama
07 May 2008 | On the New River, Fort Lauderdale

The seadog goes to sea

17 May 2008 | West End, Grand Bahama
Windy and rocky and rolly
Land Ho! I don't know why the Captain said this but she got excited and seemed happier than she had been all day.

For some strange reason, we left in the middle of the night. There was a big orange moon in the sky behind us over the city. Pretty soon the boat was not so good for sleeping - which, hey, is what I do at night. I couldn't figure out why we left a perfectly good sleeping place and went out into the ocean where sails flapped, the motor roared and I had trouble sleeping.

After the sun came up the boat started to roll some more. I tried to make myself comfortable on top of the Captain's white sweatshirt. You can tell from the look on my face in the photo that it wasn't all that comfortable. Pretty soon my tummy didn't feel so good. As a dog, I know what the solution for that one is. Brrrrrup, brrrrup, bwwwap. After that I felt so much better, but the Captain was making her mean face when she pulled her white sweatshirt out from under me. I was glad she took it away because that big pool of yellow stuff was making it hard for me to get comfortable. I just shifted over to her nice soft towel.

My tummy didn't make any more funny noises, but I couldn't sleep well, and I wasn't really hungry even when the Captain offered me cheese. Now that's something! So when the Captain started running around on the deck, taking the sail down and getting out dock lines, I figured it was a good thing - because now I really had to pee.

This new place has good smells and lots of grass but I was mostly happy that the boat stopped moving around and I could go to sleep.

May the wind always be full of good smells!

Chip
Comments
Vessel Name: Wild Matilda & Talespinner
Vessel Make/Model: Ron Holland 43 & Caliber 33
Hailing Port: Fort Lauderdale
Crew: Intrepid Seadog Chip
About:
I am a one-eyed, mixed-breed terrier, a son of a bitch from the Caribbean, born during a hurricane in 1995. I live and sail aboard the 33-foot Caliber sloop TALESPINNER with the Captain, however, this summer, the Captain has me off sailing with Bruce on his boat WILD MATILDA. [...]
Extra: I would love to get comments from anyone - other dogs, cats, birds, snakes, ferrets -- even humans -- I'm not prejudiced.

About Chip

Who: Intrepid Seadog Chip
Port: Fort Lauderdale