Sailing the Karina C

Vessel Name: Karina C
Vessel Make/Model: Spencer 35
Hailing Port: Nanaimo, B.C.
Crew: Jay + Anita Bigland
About: We are a crew of 2 ready to take on adventure on the Pacific Coast. We have returned from sailing to Mexico from 2010-15.
Extra: email us at jayanitabigland@gmail.com
25 July 2023 | Home port
25 July 2023 | Home Port
12 July 2023 | Poet’s Cove
21 May 2023 | Home port
14 August 2022 | Home port
20 July 2022 | Home port
15 April 2022 | Nanaimo Home
14 April 2022 | Nanaimo
13 April 2022 | Saltspring Yacht Club
12 April 2022 | Van Isle Marina
11 April 2022 | Van Isle Marina
09 April 2022 | Van Isle Marina
08 April 2022 | Van Isle Marina
07 April 2022 | Sidney Spit Marine Park
06 April 2022 | Montague Harbour
05 April 2022 | Clam Bay
30 March 2022 | Home Port- Nanaimo
10 February 2022 | Mill Bay
06 September 2021 | Home port
31 July 2021 | Home port
Recent Blog Posts
25 July 2023 | Home port

Ode to Old Age

We made it back in time to do a little work on a project we have going in the back yard: a retaining wall. We have bought 4 palettes of bricks and we are about to lay them. We've hired a young man who is a very good worker and he has been ever so helpful. Today I (Jay) went to the ophthalmologist's office [...]

25 July 2023 | Home Port

Poet's Cove to Home

Heading N on Trincomali Channel

12 July 2023 | Poet’s Cove

To Poet’s Cove

Beautiful costumes at Mexican Festival

21 May 2023 | Home port

First Big cruise of 2023

Jay & Anita at Tod Inlet

14 August 2022 | Home port

August Cruise

Rion and Michelle Berg at Gowland Point

20 July 2022 | Home port

Out for a couple of weeks

In late June, Anita’s shoulder and my eye healed sufficiently to make a little journey on Karina C.

OK now Ready!!

19 November 2013 | Marina San Carlos
Jay/Warm
11/16
This morning I thought I would get serious about fixing the solar controller. I was up at 0600 and checked the output. 0 voltage. OK that was because the red charging LED was off and that was OK. Then the red LED came on. That means the controller is on. Still no output. Now I am concerned the controller is NFG (Not Functioning Good). On the 0800 net I asked for anyone who might have a new controller to test out on my system. Bill (from Amaranth) came over and tried to help. He had a spare controller. While Bill and I were trying to troubleshoot the thing, the red LED turned yellow! I looked it up in the book and that meant it was charging! I looked at the voltmeter and WOW! we were putting out 13.3 with a load on. Right now we have the fans and fridge going and we are putting out electricity like crazy! Of course Bill accepted all the credit for "fixing" the controller. The voltmeter on the controller still is not functioning well, but we don't need to worry about that for this season. When I get back to Canada, I'll get to replacing it.
As I was basking in the glory of having conquered another mind numbing problem, Anita said that the galley counter was about to get a new coat of paint. We have some left over from when we redid our kitchen sink last summer.
After lunch I celebrated by going over to Barracuda Bob's for a coffee and internet fix. While enroute I managed to contact the electrician and stopped him from attending to the (now fixed) solar controller. I tried to contact Anita and she was unable to contact me back. Sounds like I have my next project in front of me.

11/18
I was up early today and put another coat of texturing on the galley counter. It was dry by 1000 and, because Anita didn't like the job I did, she redid it. That should mean we should be ready for topcoating tomorrow.
We took it easy today as we are still a little buzzed from the furious pace we had set ourselves for the past week. We put the sun cover on the dinghy and tidied up a bit. That is the sum of things.
The weather here has turned cooler. At 1736 I have my sweatpants and sweatshirt over my T shirt and I'm just right.
Anita has been draining the water at the office. So far, she has several gallons of water so she will be able to enjoy the trip down to PV drinking nothing but bottled water. I am fine with the filtered San Carlos water that comes out of the tank.
The electrician has yet to come and bless Karina with a reconnection of the radar cable. We are hoping for tomorrow. I get the feeling that he is one of those hand to mouth guys that works when he needs the money. I can wait as we can't leave until next weekend anyway. We are waiting for our new inverter/charger.

11/19
Today it became official: Firefly Mike, the electrician, let me down on the radar cable splice. He must be independently wealthy. As well, he is illegal as he is working (if you call it) here in Mexico without a visa. I don't care if Migracion is reading this blog as he is such a disappointment. Anyhow, if I did rat him out, he would be married to a 250 lb. Mexican by the name of "Poopsie" for 2 weeks before his deportation order becomes official and they bus him to Nogales.
Oddly, he referred us to Jesus (pronounced Hey Zeus). Jesus is noted for performing miracles. Lets see what he does with our radar. In an uncharacteristic step with our present experience with electricians, he came by the boat this afternoon and looked at the project and said he will be here at 1000 tomorrow to do the job. I have faith.
I retaught myself how to transfer .avi files to my Ipod. This means we can watch several seasons of "Spooks" while we are bombing down the sea towards PV.
Anita has been in quest of persimmons. She didn't know the correct translation of the word. She tried "caqui" in front of the grocer. It seems, after a little laugh the correct term is "persimo." Not sure what "caqui" is, but if you pronounce it, you kinda wonder. Anyhow.... they didn't have it yesterday, but they did today. Anita was in the grocery store and picked through the rotting collection of castoffs that wouldn't make it to the USA or Canada and found a few that she had for lunch.
This morning I went off in a futile quest for water based varathane. Eventually, I returned with an oil based varnish that seemed to do the job on the galley counter. Its not pretty, but its ours. I was unsure of how oil based and water based paint were going to mix. It turned out OK. Anita is happy she has a new sink counter top.Typical of Mexico, we have a "make do" solution rather than the real thing. We bought an oil based varnish rather than the water based clear coat we were looking for. we'll see what tomorrow brings.
Comments

About & Links