Sailing the Karina C

Vessel Name: Karina C
Vessel Make/Model: Spencer 35
Hailing Port: Nanaimo, B.C.
Crew: Jay + Anita Bigland
About: We are a crew of 2 ready to take on adventure on the Pacific Coast. We have returned from sailing to Mexico from 2010-15.
Extra: email us at jayanitabigland@gmail.com
25 July 2023 | Home port
25 July 2023 | Home Port
12 July 2023 | Poet’s Cove
21 May 2023 | Home port
14 August 2022 | Home port
20 July 2022 | Home port
15 April 2022 | Nanaimo Home
14 April 2022 | Nanaimo
13 April 2022 | Saltspring Yacht Club
12 April 2022 | Van Isle Marina
11 April 2022 | Van Isle Marina
09 April 2022 | Van Isle Marina
08 April 2022 | Van Isle Marina
07 April 2022 | Sidney Spit Marine Park
06 April 2022 | Montague Harbour
05 April 2022 | Clam Bay
30 March 2022 | Home Port- Nanaimo
10 February 2022 | Mill Bay
06 September 2021 | Home port
31 July 2021 | Home port
Recent Blog Posts
25 July 2023 | Home port

Ode to Old Age

We made it back in time to do a little work on a project we have going in the back yard: a retaining wall. We have bought 4 palettes of bricks and we are about to lay them. We've hired a young man who is a very good worker and he has been ever so helpful. Today I (Jay) went to the ophthalmologist's office [...]

25 July 2023 | Home Port

Poet's Cove to Home

Heading N on Trincomali Channel

12 July 2023 | Poet’s Cove

To Poet’s Cove

Beautiful costumes at Mexican Festival

21 May 2023 | Home port

First Big cruise of 2023

Jay & Anita at Tod Inlet

14 August 2022 | Home port

August Cruise

Rion and Michelle Berg at Gowland Point

20 July 2022 | Home port

Out for a couple of weeks

In late June, Anita’s shoulder and my eye healed sufficiently to make a little journey on Karina C.

Getting ready for another season

09 March 2016 | Nanaimo
Jay/cool/wet
We have been slowly getting Karina C ready for another season here on the wet coast. It has been uncommonly wet and coolish this winter, so we didn't really get a chance to get down to tend Karina like we wanted to. As well, we have been distracted by musical pursuits that have been a long time in development.
One of the musical things is a return to gigging (playing musical dates for $). We did this for the primary reason that we found a drummer who was uncommonly musical, could sing well, and had a good PA (which we don't have). Unfortunately, the drummer had to back out and we are now far less disposed to gigging than we were previously. Unfortunately, we have accepted a few dates. The last one is in June. We will do those dates with a sub who may work out OK. We'll see. It is not that we need the money, its just a cool hobby. Anyhow, if the drummer performs to expectation, we will likely wind up our professional career and return to the amateur ranks after the June date. If the drummer is above expectation, we may look at some more dates in the fall and winter.
All the above sucked up way more time than I originally planned on spending on this project.
After procrastinating for a few weeks, we finally got down to the boat and got the commissioning going. The first job was to run the onboard fuel conditioner for a few hours. Within 1 hour the old fuel pump gave up the ghost. Soooooo I turned on the light in the motor compartment and it promptly failed too. A few days later, we had a new fuel pump and light fixture in the motor compartment. Then, I started to work skinning my knuckles changing both the primary and secondary fuel filters, changing the motor and transmission oil and the last job: the prop shaft zinc. It looked OK to my eye when I went under today. Unfortunately, it disintegrated in my hand. It has been a while since I was last diving and my buoyancy control device was leaking air (again). I consigned 20 lbs of lead to the bottom as well as the tool to change the zinc. I still have way more lead than I'll use in my lifetime that I've kept since Anita was diving. But the new zinc is on and just needs one more dive to tighten it with a new tool I bought at Midland tools ( http://www.midlandtools.ca )
The dive tank is recharged and I have borrowed a BC vest from the dive shop while mine gets fixed. It occurs to me it is likely far cheaper to hire a diver next time.
I am gonna make a few bucks back changing my neighbours zinc tomorrow, so not all is lost. I don't care about the lead or the tools as they are not expensive and were ready for their fate. I may get crazy and go down and grub around in the bottom looking for the leads and tools. Now all we need is some good weather between the gig dates we have and we might be able to go off for a cruise...
Oh yeah.... I also have a few dates potentially plugging up our cruising life. I have an MRI booked for April 1 and, depending on the results may have to stay around for a surgery. Given my latest lab tests, I expect I should be OK for most of the summer. I still have to go in for the "finger that doesn't linger" next week sometime. Our GP is a nice guy and good doctor, but has hands like a basketball player. Fortunately, Anita is extremely well and keeps me active biking and walking between the raindrops we've been putting up with.
Comments

About & Links