Kaimusailing

s/v Kaimu Wharram Catamaran

Vessel Name: Kaimu
Vessel Make/Model: Wharram Custom
Hailing Port: Norwalk, CT
Crew: Andy and the Kaimu Crew
About: Sailors in the Baltimore, Annapolis, DC area.
17 April 2024 | St Marys, GA
07 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA
02 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA
21 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA
01 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA
23 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
15 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
11 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
06 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
26 January 2024 | St. Marys, GA
14 January 2024 | St. Marys, GA
09 January 2024 | St Marys, GA
23 December 2023 | St Marys, GA
10 December 2023 | St Marys, GA
25 November 2023 | St. Marys, GA
17 November 2023 | St. Marys, GA
17 November 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
03 November 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
26 October 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
17 October 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
Recent Blog Posts
17 April 2024 | St Marys, GA

Dinghy Skeg

I was suffering with what seemed like a cold and also had allergy symptoms. I awoke and felt fine. The green pollen that was coating everything was gone. Maybe it will return.

07 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Clammy Hands

Items came in from TEMU, the Chinese cut rate retailer. One was a nice little drone that cost about twelve and a half dollars. It looked like an easy thing to play with while I coughed and sneezed. I was fighting a summer cold, even though it is not summer elsewhere, it seems like it here. A nice [...]

02 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Sun Doggie

After laminating the cedar strips onto the gunwales of the dinghy I found the screws I used wouldn’t come out. The epoxy had seized them. The screw heads were stripped so I cut a straight slot in the heads with the cut off wheel. The cedar smoked when the screw heads got red hot. I could remove [...]

21 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Just Add Water

The rainy weekend started off with overcast and fog but no rain. It looked like I might be able to get something done on the D4 dinghy. I wanted to change the bow seat which is really the bow deck. The sailing option uses the deck to hold the freestanding mast. I didn’t like how the deck looked, [...]

01 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA

D4 Dinghy Alternative Seats

The rain event was more wind than rain, strong winds with gusts up to 44 mph. We drove into town to see what the harbor was like. There was a small sailboat that had dragged anchor and was sitting close to shore. The tide was out. We left and played with Bleu at Notter’s Pond.

23 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA

D4 Inside Seams

Day two of the dinghy build started out with me finishing wiring the hull bottoms together on the centerline of the bottom panels. This was much easier than the wiring of the chine edges of the bottom panels and the side panels.

More Galley Work

24 December 2015 | St Mary's, GA
Capn Andy/Warm
The galley was full of rusty and corroded cans which had lost their labels, so it was anyone's guess what was in them. I knew I had a lot of diced tomatoes and some cans of baby clams. I pretty much identified everything but one can. The boatyard owner said he used to be in business with his dad salvaging vessels and most of them had canned goods on them. “We'd have what we called 'Salvage Stew'”.
.
I expected the lone unidentified can to have some sort of tomato sauce, maybe crushed tomatoes, so I planned on making penne with red clam sauce. Most of the spices were ruined, but there were enough left to make pasta. Fortunately I opened the un-ID'd can first, what was staring back at me from inside the can were the infamous Chinese mackerel. The oriental sauce I had made with them the first time was awful, and I couldn't make it again anyway, the sesame garlic sauce bottle had gone bye-bye. I did have the Thai red curry paste and rice, so I made a rice curry. The rice and water were brought to a boil along with the liquid from the mackerel. I added about a tablespoon of the curry paste and a shot of red chili sauce. The mackerel were laid on a dish and the bones were removed. The fish was made into bite size pieces and thrown into the pot. After simmering a while the rice absorbed all the liquid and it was time to taste test the concoction. It wasn't too bad, way better than the previous attempt. I ate it for dinner and lunch the next day.
.
Cooking in the galley was difficult due to the battery charging and repairs going on. After I finished tool washing down on the work bench below the cross deck, I put the tools in toolboxes and brought the propane stove down and set up a little kitchen on one end of the work bench. When it came time in the evening to make dinner I opened a can of clams and drained the liquid into a medium saucepan along with olive oil and parsley flakes, simmered it, and added a shot of chili sauce in lieu of red pepper flakes. Penne was cooked in a large pot and when it was ready, the drained can of clams was added along with the simmered liquid. It was seasoned with garlic salt and turned out OK. The young Russian had some and provided some bread.
.
The forecast is unusual in that it will be in the 70's every day for the next week or so, right through the holidays. I'm gathering information about local sawmills and lumber yards and will be measuring for repair supplies. I will get fiberglass from my usual source at Raka in South Florida, I imagine shipping will be quicker here and cost less.
.
The picture is of one of the skegs which had been sheared off at the tip. The repair will consist of cutting off the skeg along the seam where it fairs into the keel, routing out the keel for a slot for the new skeg, fabricating the wooden part of the skeg, epoxying it into the slot, then glassing it, fairing it in with the keel. The bottom of the skeg has a protrusion that accepts the rudder pivot post. Both the rudder and sternpost have fiberglass hinges made of rovings and mill ends. The pivot post is 1 inch in diameter, so maybe I can find plastic pipe of that outside diameter to use as a form.
Comments

About & Links

SailBlogs Groups