Kaimusailing

s/v Kaimu Wharram Catamaran

Vessel Name: Kaimu
Vessel Make/Model: Wharram Custom
Hailing Port: Norwalk, CT
Crew: Andy and the Kaimu Crew
About: Sailors in the Baltimore, Annapolis, DC area.
17 April 2024 | St Marys, GA
07 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA
02 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA
21 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA
01 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA
23 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
15 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
11 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
06 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
26 January 2024 | St. Marys, GA
14 January 2024 | St. Marys, GA
09 January 2024 | St Marys, GA
23 December 2023 | St Marys, GA
10 December 2023 | St Marys, GA
25 November 2023 | St. Marys, GA
17 November 2023 | St. Marys, GA
17 November 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
03 November 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
26 October 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
17 October 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
Recent Blog Posts
17 April 2024 | St Marys, GA

Dinghy Skeg

I was suffering with what seemed like a cold and also had allergy symptoms. I awoke and felt fine. The green pollen that was coating everything was gone. Maybe it will return.

07 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Clammy Hands

Items came in from TEMU, the Chinese cut rate retailer. One was a nice little drone that cost about twelve and a half dollars. It looked like an easy thing to play with while I coughed and sneezed. I was fighting a summer cold, even though it is not summer elsewhere, it seems like it here. A nice [...]

02 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Sun Doggie

After laminating the cedar strips onto the gunwales of the dinghy I found the screws I used wouldn’t come out. The epoxy had seized them. The screw heads were stripped so I cut a straight slot in the heads with the cut off wheel. The cedar smoked when the screw heads got red hot. I could remove [...]

21 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Just Add Water

The rainy weekend started off with overcast and fog but no rain. It looked like I might be able to get something done on the D4 dinghy. I wanted to change the bow seat which is really the bow deck. The sailing option uses the deck to hold the freestanding mast. I didn’t like how the deck looked, [...]

01 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA

D4 Dinghy Alternative Seats

The rain event was more wind than rain, strong winds with gusts up to 44 mph. We drove into town to see what the harbor was like. There was a small sailboat that had dragged anchor and was sitting close to shore. The tide was out. We left and played with Bleu at Notter’s Pond.

23 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA

D4 Inside Seams

Day two of the dinghy build started out with me finishing wiring the hull bottoms together on the centerline of the bottom panels. This was much easier than the wiring of the chine edges of the bottom panels and the side panels.

The Woodshop

10 February 2016 | St. Mary's, GA
Capn Andy/Windy and Cold
The night’s rest in the cook’s bunk did me well. I didn’t have to get up and go topside to cross the deck to the cold galley to make breakfast, the cook’s bunk is right forward of the galley, so I just had to get up and start cooking. Well, that isn’t entirely true, it was cold and windy and the little propane heater had run out of fuel long ago. I put on a pull over sweat shirt and took empty cannisters to the propane tank down at ground level and filled them. Then the heater was fired up and breakfast could begin. I had slept late and eagerly sautéed ham and onions, made coffee, then mixed the sautee into beaten eggs and began an omelet, adding slices of hoop cheddar to melt on top. There was a lot of commotion outside, workers were braving the cold and grinding on nearby hulls.
.
The omelet was perfect and I did a crossword puzzle. I had some whole wheat bread along with the omelet. Outside, the sound of the wind indicated 30 to 40 knots from maybe the southwest. I put away the crossword puzzle and began to work. A stepladder had been blown over. I moved it and another away from the boat. Someone else could use them. I finished tightening the bolts that hold the bow ramp to the #1 crossbeam. I went on the bicycle to the mail boxes and found I could ride a little bit, then jibe off and let the wind take me there. The trees were bending over and any loose objects were rolling around the boatyard. No mail came in.
.
I skipped lunch due to a late and hearty breakfast. I did a quick cosmetic grinding of some roughness on the helm station, then mixed some two part paint to add a second coat to the repaired beams and to parts of the helm station.
.
I took a break and searched online for a solution to the black spot on camera LCD problem. It looks like this is caused by someone pressing too hard on the LCD or dropping the camera and striking the LCD. A new LCD for this little camera was about 9 bucks, from China, maybe 2 to to 3 weeks delivery, I hope.
.
The problem of broken battery door latch is common on these Fujifilm Z70 cameras. The first one that came in was repaired by gluing a small piece of plastic to the latch pin on the battery door. This second camera had a good latch pin, but had broken the clasp, I guess you’d call it, on the camera body. I moved the good latch to the first camera, which now had nothing broken on it, and now the second camera had a cobbed up latch and no clasp. I was going to use a rubber band to hold the door shut but couldn’t find my little bag of rubber bands. Why not glue something onto the camera body and restore the latch?
.
I whittled a small piece of toothpick sized wood off the epoxy mixing stick and glued it onto the camera body with 5 minute epoxy. the epoxy was pushed around a little bit, after it had begun to firm up, to make room for the battery door to close properly. Also the little piece of wood had to be held in position until the epoxy set. It didn’t take long and the door now worked perfectly. If the repair breaks I’ll just have to find those rubber bands.
.
I went off to check the mail boxes for any deliveries and took the camera to test it out further. I ended up in the woodshop with Ron and Troy. A few others passed through and we heard stories about the high winds. A boat had left the dock a couple days ago and had trouble with the wind then. Now how were they doing? No one had any news. One said he was a kayak flying through the air, spinning on its way. Another said he had foam plastic templates of pilothouse windows on the dock with a cement block to keep them from blowing away. They blew away. All the while the woodshop was creaking and groaning with each gust of wind.
.
I kept taking pictures with the little black camera and I noticed a lot of lens flare, more even than a cell phone camera. Here is a shot of Ron working in front of a large window.
Comments

About & Links

SailBlogs Groups