Kaimusailing

s/v Kaimu Wharram Catamaran

Vessel Name: Kaimu
Vessel Make/Model: Wharram Custom
Hailing Port: Norwalk, CT
Crew: Andy and the Kaimu Crew
About: Sailors in the Baltimore, Annapolis, DC area.
17 April 2024 | St Marys, GA
07 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA
02 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA
21 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA
01 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA
23 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
15 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
11 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
06 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
26 January 2024 | St. Marys, GA
14 January 2024 | St. Marys, GA
09 January 2024 | St Marys, GA
23 December 2023 | St Marys, GA
10 December 2023 | St Marys, GA
25 November 2023 | St. Marys, GA
17 November 2023 | St. Marys, GA
17 November 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
03 November 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
26 October 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
17 October 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
Recent Blog Posts
17 April 2024 | St Marys, GA

Dinghy Skeg

I was suffering with what seemed like a cold and also had allergy symptoms. I awoke and felt fine. The green pollen that was coating everything was gone. Maybe it will return.

07 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Clammy Hands

Items came in from TEMU, the Chinese cut rate retailer. One was a nice little drone that cost about twelve and a half dollars. It looked like an easy thing to play with while I coughed and sneezed. I was fighting a summer cold, even though it is not summer elsewhere, it seems like it here. A nice [...]

02 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Sun Doggie

After laminating the cedar strips onto the gunwales of the dinghy I found the screws I used wouldn’t come out. The epoxy had seized them. The screw heads were stripped so I cut a straight slot in the heads with the cut off wheel. The cedar smoked when the screw heads got red hot. I could remove [...]

21 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Just Add Water

The rainy weekend started off with overcast and fog but no rain. It looked like I might be able to get something done on the D4 dinghy. I wanted to change the bow seat which is really the bow deck. The sailing option uses the deck to hold the freestanding mast. I didn’t like how the deck looked, [...]

01 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA

D4 Dinghy Alternative Seats

The rain event was more wind than rain, strong winds with gusts up to 44 mph. We drove into town to see what the harbor was like. There was a small sailboat that had dragged anchor and was sitting close to shore. The tide was out. We left and played with Bleu at Notter’s Pond.

23 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA

D4 Inside Seams

Day two of the dinghy build started out with me finishing wiring the hull bottoms together on the centerline of the bottom panels. This was much easier than the wiring of the chine edges of the bottom panels and the side panels.

Tom Yum Again

19 March 2016 | St. Mary's, GA
Capn Andy/Thunderstorms
A couple items came in, a glass lid for the small cast iron skillet, and an enameled medium sized pot that I thought would be good for simmering soups. My other, cheap, thin, aluminum pots from Walmart work fine on the alcohol stove, but extended cooking times end up with burned results. The enameled pot had a nice Hawaiian style motif of pineapple on a white background.
.
I went shopping to an untried store and found high prices, so bought less. It had a respectable Asian section, but I had all I needed back on the boat, that is, the store didn’t have anything additional for me.
.
I did buy some canned salmon, on impulse, and now wondered what would I do with it. I decided to make Tom Yum soup, since I had on hand some good Tom Yum Paste, purchased on Etsy from a woman on Long Island who hand makes it.
.
I had used this paste a couple times before and got good reviews of the soup I made from it. I gave one of the sailors about a cup of the stuff so he could make his own soup. He tried to eat it like a spicy dip with a corn chip. Wrong!
.
My favorite soup is like a combination of hot and sour soup and tom yum soup. I like having the egg drops of hot and sour soup, plus the combination of chili spice and vinegar sour. Tom yum has its own mix of spices that augment the chili flavor. Sesame oil adds another level of taste to finish it off.
.
First I boiled 4 cups of water in the tea pot. In the pineapple pot I put 2/3 cup of uncooked rice, two chicken bouillon cubes, and some crushed dried cloud ear mushrooms. When the water boiled I added it to the pot and let it come back to a boil and stirred it, wondering what else to throw in. I had sushi wrappers (seaweed) and cut one up like confetti and added that to the pot. I added about 2 tablespoons of the tom yum paste. Normally I would add vinegar and sugar to the soup, but this time I added a few dried apricots finely chopped along with some balsamic vinegar. The rice was now cooked, so I dribbled in two eggs, beaten, while slowly stirring the soup. It was getting thicker and thicker. I added a can of salmon and broke that up into small pieces. The final touch was a dollop of sesame oil.
.
I brought the pot of soup down to the communal kitchen and let anyone there try it. There were plenty of cups and spoons there and the soup got good reviews. The photo is of the pineapple pot of soup.
Comments

About & Links

SailBlogs Groups