Kaimusailing

s/v Kaimu Wharram Catamaran

Vessel Name: Kaimu
Vessel Make/Model: Wharram Custom
Hailing Port: Norwalk, CT
Crew: Andy and the Kaimu Crew
About: Sailors in the Baltimore, Annapolis, DC area.
23 April 2024 | St Marys, GA
17 April 2024 | St Marys, GA
07 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA
02 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA
21 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA
01 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA
23 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
15 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
11 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
06 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
26 January 2024 | St. Marys, GA
14 January 2024 | St. Marys, GA
09 January 2024 | St Marys, GA
23 December 2023 | St Marys, GA
10 December 2023 | St Marys, GA
25 November 2023 | St. Marys, GA
17 November 2023 | St. Marys, GA
17 November 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
03 November 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
26 October 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
Recent Blog Posts
23 April 2024 | St Marys, GA

D4 Launchie

The laptop pooped the bed, so I have to scurry around with alternatives. Not as bad as typing on the phone.

17 April 2024 | St Marys, GA

Dinghy Skeg

I was suffering with what seemed like a cold and also had allergy symptoms. I awoke and felt fine. The green pollen that was coating everything was gone. Maybe it will return.

07 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Clammy Hands

Items came in from TEMU, the Chinese cut rate retailer. One was a nice little drone that cost about twelve and a half dollars. It looked like an easy thing to play with while I coughed and sneezed. I was fighting a summer cold, even though it is not summer elsewhere, it seems like it here. A nice [...]

02 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Sun Doggie

After laminating the cedar strips onto the gunwales of the dinghy I found the screws I used wouldn’t come out. The epoxy had seized them. The screw heads were stripped so I cut a straight slot in the heads with the cut off wheel. The cedar smoked when the screw heads got red hot. I could remove [...]

21 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Just Add Water

The rainy weekend started off with overcast and fog but no rain. It looked like I might be able to get something done on the D4 dinghy. I wanted to change the bow seat which is really the bow deck. The sailing option uses the deck to hold the freestanding mast. I didn’t like how the deck looked, [...]

01 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA

D4 Dinghy Alternative Seats

The rain event was more wind than rain, strong winds with gusts up to 44 mph. We drove into town to see what the harbor was like. There was a small sailboat that had dragged anchor and was sitting close to shore. The tide was out. We left and played with Bleu at Notter’s Pond.

St. Marys Thanksgiving for Boaters

24 November 2016 | St. Marys, GA
Capn Andy/Cold Fall Weather
There was a contingent of boaters from the boatyard signed up to attend the Oyster Roast at the town of St. Marys Thanksgiving Festival. We had to bring an appetizer, not chips, they said. I decided to make potato salad which had gone over well at other parties. This was egg and potato salad with some bacon and green onions. Now I had the idea to make a loaded potato salad, put some cheese into it.
.
I needed to shop for ingredients, but first there was boatwork to do, epoxy all the holes I had made in the cabin tops when I removed the old solar panels, winches, and rope clutches. It seemed like the day was shot, I did the work, but time went by, I took Jakob out on my shopping trip for potatoes, etc. By the time we got back it was only about an hour before the Oyster Roast was to start and I had to cook 5 lbs. of potatoes and all the rest. Jacob was making some sort of lemon finger dessert over at the communal kitchen.
.
I set up the Harbor Freight two burner propane cook top on top of the cast off cabinet that I was using to house my epoxy. This was too high to see what was happening in the pots as the eggs and potatoes were cooking.
.
I guess I ought to include the recipe of what I was making, a variation on potato salad. I had some good feedback on a potato salad I made for a dock party that included eggs and bacon. Now I wanted to include cheese as well, a loaded baked potato salad.
.
This would be a dozen hard boiled eggs, 5 lbs, of diced potatoes, one diced onion and one diced green pepper. I added about a quarter pound of diced black forest ham, because it was near its due date and had to be used. If I had used bacon I would have used Canadian bacon, and not fried to a crisp. With regular bacon, it is best to fry it under cover and maybe with some water to make it leathery, not crispy. In a salad, the crispy bacon can be an irritant, like sand. I used mayo and some mustard along with black pepper for seasoning. One comment was about using salt, but I added a package of shredded cheese, which is salty.
.
The eggs got a boil, then 15 minutes rest in the hot water. At the same time, the diced potatoes were cooking and tested at the end and were well done by then. They were both drained, eggs put into cold water, potatoes given the shredded cheese, mixed while hot, then diced onion and green pepper, continue mixing, add diced ham (or bacon), then chop the hard boiled eggs fine and add them, mix with mayonnaise and a little mustard. Don’t forget some black pepper and salt to taste.
.
We were running late, the Oyster Roast was scheduled at 5:30 and we were not going to be there before 6:30. We set off and got there about an hour late. Jakob was the designated driver and I ordered a large drink at the bar. We put our potato salad and lemon bars on the food table and began to mingle. I had a small plate and dropped a dab of my potato salad on it. I had not tasted it yet, plus, it had been made mostly after sundown with no light, made in the dark. I described it as a shot in the dark. It was good, with crunchy onion and green pepper. When I returned to have some more, it was all gone. Also Jakob’s lemon fingers were gone. Good cooking from the boatyard.
.
It was nice to run into fellow boaters and discuss things that only we would care about. One objective for me was to find out who had the large 63 foot Wharram catamarn out in the harbor, surely they must be at this party or someone here must know who they are, but it turned out that no one knew who they were.
.
The next day was of course Thanksgiving and we went back for the feast. It was four large banquet tables crowded with all sorts of food. I never had pomegranate salad before. Cherry, pumpkin, and lemon meringue pie for me for dessert.
.
The photo is of Seagle’s, the restaurant that hosted the Thanksgiving feast.
Comments

About & Links

SailBlogs Groups