Kaimusailing

s/v Kaimu Wharram Catamaran

Vessel Name: Kaimu
Vessel Make/Model: Wharram Custom
Hailing Port: Norwalk, CT
Crew: Andy and the Kaimu Crew
About: Sailors in the Baltimore, Annapolis, DC area.
21 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA
01 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA
23 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
15 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
11 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
06 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
26 January 2024 | St. Marys, GA
14 January 2024 | St. Marys, GA
09 January 2024 | St Marys, GA
23 December 2023 | St Marys, GA
10 December 2023 | St Marys, GA
25 November 2023 | St. Marys, GA
17 November 2023 | St. Marys, GA
17 November 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
03 November 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
26 October 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
17 October 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
11 October 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
04 October 2023 | Alice B. Tawes, McReady Pavilion, Crisfield, Maryland Eastern Shore
03 October 2023 | Alice B. Tawes, McReady Pavilion, Crisfield, Maryland Eastern Shore
Recent Blog Posts
21 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Just Add Water

The rainy weekend started off with overcast and fog but no rain. It looked like I might be able to get something done on the D4 dinghy. I wanted to change the bow seat which is really the bow deck. The sailing option uses the deck to hold the freestanding mast. I didn’t like how the deck looked, [...]

01 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA

D4 Dinghy Alternative Seats

The rain event was more wind than rain, strong winds with gusts up to 44 mph. We drove into town to see what the harbor was like. There was a small sailboat that had dragged anchor and was sitting close to shore. The tide was out. We left and played with Bleu at Notter’s Pond.

23 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA

D4 Inside Seams

Day two of the dinghy build started out with me finishing wiring the hull bottoms together on the centerline of the bottom panels. This was much easier than the wiring of the chine edges of the bottom panels and the side panels.

15 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA

D4 Dinghy Day One

A Wharram Pahi 26 had been anchored in the river nearby the boatyard and was hauled out with the travel lift. I went around to look at it and talked to the owner couple. I was surprised that it had been built in Martinique in 1988. The boat is more than 30 years old.

11 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA

D4 Redux

The inflatable (deflatable) dinghy I had bought was deteriorating. It had bottom seams separating. It is a West Marine branded dinghy made out of PVC. HH66 is the adhesive to reattach the seams. A friend had a similar problem and bought the same adhesive. I was waiting to hear from him how it worked [...]

06 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA

The Clincher

We decided to go to Amelia Island for the day, probably to the beach. Our plan to cycle around on the Raleigh 20’s seemed like a bad idea, Bleu can’t keep up with a bicycle for very long and when he quits he quits. So we would walk, where?, Fort Clinch State Park. She has a forever pass for Florida [...]

Hoist!

12 January 2017 | St. Marys, GA
Capn Andy/Winter
The musical chairs game of laptop computers continues. The “new” toughbook had a display problem. At first it looked great, much brighter than the old laptop. I had already loaded the ubuntu operating system on it and OpenCPN with its navigation charts. Then came Calibre and the ebook collection that is labeled “400000 books”. There are less than that in it, but it takes a long time for the program to load them into its database. After 2 days of churning along it was indicating about 47,000 books loaded. The display was going bad with the lower portion out of sync and it kept growing.
.
I had an old broken CF-52 toughbook display that I took apart to familiarize with its parts. Then I took apart the new display. I was guessing that the problem was a bad or loose cable. When I had it almost all apart and powered up, I could not make the problem go away by wiggling the cables. Then the LCD part of the display fell out of its case and tore a small ribbon cable apart.
.
I found out after a lot of searching around that this display is an LED backlit display while the earlier ones are cold cathode fluorescent. The LED display is much brighter. In our case, we have no spare parts for it, so a new display was on order.
.
During this time I was using the windows laptop and the older navigatrix toughbook. I had blog posts partially written up here and there. Perhaps this one will survive and be posted.
.
The painting on the port side outboard cabin top and port side rear deck and coaming continued. I was down to the last quart of arctic white, so ordered another gallon. About 100 dollars including shipping from NJ.
.
We were having a cycle of 2 or 3 days of cold weather going down into the 30‘s at night and only in the 40‘s or 50‘s daytime, then 4 or 5 days of 70‘s daytime. My plan was to continue working on the outside of the boat during the warm days and work inside during the cold days. Inside work included doing laundry, breaking computers, and reading the kindle. I would have to start doing some real work inside and we will probably have more cold weather more days in a row in which to do it.
.
The next day was warm with a beautiful blue sky, so I goofed off and kayaked out to Trillium. I hadn’t been out there for a while. I was shocked to see about a foot of water in the cockpit. Another few inches and it would have been over the sill and into the cabin. The cockpit drains had been clogged and we had had a lot of rain. I cleaned the drains, they drained, and I grabbed the spare tiller arm, the Miata service manual, and a plastic jug of fuel, and kayaked back to shore. The kayak is not large and it is normally tortuous for me to get in and out of it. This time I tweaked something in my sore knee, and now it had regressed to the stiffness and pain level back when I injured it.
.
Back in the boatyard I ran into my neighbor Bill who needed to go shopping, so we took the Miata out for lunch and shopping. The day before, I found the car wouldn’t start. The battery terminals were loose. Then I remembered one of my dock neighbors up in Maryland telling me that Captain Ed had borrowed my battery, without asking, while I was away sailing Trillium down to St. Marys. He never said thank you or mentioned having borrowed it.
.
It turned out he had really messed up the battery terminals, that’s why he didn’t mention it. The car ran, but every now and then it would be hard to start. I was thinking of buying a new battery. It ended up that I had to completely remove the battery from the car and ungall one of the terminal bolts, find a new nut for the bolt, then reassemble the terminals and install the battery clamp, which he had left in pieces next to the battery.
.
Back from shopping and the boat next door was getting some work done. I believe they were working on an electrical problem, found the wiring of the boat mystifying, and were up the mast to ohm out the line that fed the steaming light. The crane that hoisted the rigger up the mast is called a man lift and was recently salvaged by the boatyard and put into service. It obviously needs a coat of paint. I am sure it is perfectly safe.
Comments

About & Links

SailBlogs Groups