s/v Skylark

It's Always An Adventure

02 September 2017 | Yarmouth, ME
02 September 2017 | Yarmouth, ME
01 January 2017 | Bethel, Maine
01 January 2017 | Bethel, Maine
13 December 2016 | Bethel, Maine
13 December 2016 | Bethel, Maine
13 December 2016 | Charlotte, NC
01 December 2016 | Charlotte, NC
01 December 2016 | Charlotte, NC
20 November 2016 | Washington DC/Charlotte NC
06 November 2016 | Bethel, Maine
06 November 2016 | Yarmouth, ME
26 October 2016 | Colombia, Cartagena (posted from Bethel, ME)
26 October 2016 | Bethel, Maine
16 October 2016 | Camden, Maine
16 October 2016 | Bethel, Maine
06 October 2016 | Bethel, Maine
06 October 2016 | Bethel, Maine
06 October 2016 | Bethel, Maine
02 October 2016 | Bethel, Maine

Update on Health

16 October 2016 | Camden, Maine
Elizabeth
I'd like to give a quick update on my health issue which has now been diagnosed and is being treated. In early September, just 6 weeks after moving off Skylark, I got hit suddenly with incessant, crippling joint pain throughout my body which caused me to hobble like a frail old woman. There was no relief with any high potency medicine I had at my disposal. Walking up or down stairs was arduous at best and it became impossible to lower or raise myself out of a tub or sleep without being awakened from pain. Fevers were a daily occurrence due to the high levels of inflammation in my system. It was shocking, especially since I have always been in good shape and like to stay active. After consulting with a family friend who is a Rheumatologist I immediately started on Prednisone and within hours my pain was significantly reduced with mobility restored to nearly normal levels. I had my first meeting with her on Thursday where she diagnosed this as an inflammatory/immune disorder called Polymyalgia Rheumatica, uncommon in people under the age of 70. Oh well. There is no known cause, maybe viral, environmental or something else. It typically runs its course in 6 months to two years with Prednisone as the treatment of choice and that has its own complications. I trust I will be fine over time and am feeling hopeful; I feel pretty good currently. I'm sharing this on the blog because I share a lot of stuff here, but also because I want others to know about this disease/disorder. At some point maybe I'll write about what it's like to live as a full time cruiser only to return to land dwelling and suddenly be unable to walk. Who knew?
Comments
Vessel Name: Skylark
Vessel Make/Model: Bristol 41.1CC 1985
Hailing Port: Boothbay Harbor, Maine
Crew: Ed Easter, Elizabeth Meadows and Luna the dog
About: Ed, Elizabeth and Luna the dog lived for many years in Charlotte, NC. They started their live aboard experience in Charleston, SC in June 2011, cutting the lines one month later. They have been living the cruiser's life ever since.
Extra:
Skylark is a USA documented vessel and is legally identified by her name "Skylark" and hailing port "Boothbay Harbor". Since our purchase of her in 2008 she had been moored in Tenants Harbor ME '08, Rockland ME '09 and Charleston SC for the 2010 and early 2011 season. After that follow the blog [...]
Skylark's Photos - Main
94 Photos
Created 13 June 2010