Life aboard in the NE And the work continues!

Now living aboard full time while I make repairs, refits, getting her ready for the long cruise.

09 December 2013 | Piers Marina Philadelphia
09 December 2013 | Piers Marina
25 November 2013 | Piers marina
22 November 2013 | Piers Marina Philadelphia
26 August 2013 | PIERS MARINA - PHILADELPHIA
05 August 2013 | PIERS MARINA - PHILADELPHIA
19 June 2013 | always Riverside, NJ
16 June 2013 | Riverside, NJ
15 June 2013 | Still in Riverside, Nj
18 May 2013 | Corsica River
22 February 2013
18 February 2013
11 February 2013 | Same!
05 February 2013 | Riverside, NJ
14 November 2012 | Still at Riverside NJ
16 October 2012 | Horta - Azores
04 October 2012 | Riverside NJ
02 October 2012 | Riverside NJ
24 September 2012 | Riverside, NJ

A week to go 10 miles!

26 August 2013 | PIERS MARINA - PHILADELPHIA
Roland
Finally made it down to Piers 3 marina, my new home at for the next 3 years!
But it wasn't without it's problems. Here's a nice short story of the crazy trip!

Was scheduled to be put in the water July 29 - took that day and the next one from work and schedule it with the neighboring boat yard- they move you with a trailer and then the lift. Worked feverishly thursday & Friday (took the those days off too!)..after I painted the bowspite it still didn't fit! had some final sanding and grinding to do- finally got it to fit! ( now I need to do some repainting and sanding. Sunday in the pouring rain Kasy and I re-rig the boat spending most of our time looking for small parts. And also power washing the deck! Funny sight to see 2 guys power washing a boat in a rain storm.

Slept over and Monday morning finished cleaning my area up. They came over at 10:00 to move the boat and couldn't due to the other boat being too close. Finally moved me at 1. Got in the water and at the t-dock at Riverside Marina. Too late to leave for philly - started the engine and damn it started right up! Ran for about a half hour and died. Water in the fuel tank. Thankfully for that auxiliary pump, ran it, got out a gallon of water then clean fuel. Started up again, ran good for about 2 hours, motored over to the fuel dock and brought 10 gallons of diesel,.BIG mistake!

By now it's 5 so I stayed the night. Next morning started the engine- ran 20 minutes and died again! Checked the fuel and it looked like pink yogurt! not what diesel supposed to look like! Started pumping out the bad fuel - 2 gallons, let it sit, still looked like crap and missed the window again to leave for Philly. It's now Tuesday and I have to go to work the next day! So I booked a week into Riverside $300.00, and the bad diesel which of course I can't prove that it was the cause of the problem as I had left over fuel in my tank, not that it matters at this point.

Friday night got to boat with a spare diesel jerry can- filled it up at WAWA, clean nice diesel. Brought a 5 foot length of fuel hose and rerouted my fuel line to the jerry can. Engine starts right up and runs for a good 2 hours. Great! Saturday morning get up, awaiting the arrival of a friend who's going to Philly with me. Start engine up- dies again after 30 minutes! what the fuck!- Check filters fuel clean and good! Start engine again leaving the auxiliary fuel pumping working, engines seems to run fine.( I may have a bad lift pump in the engine) I just want to get the hell out of Riverside, I brought towing insurance that week, so if I can at least get out on the river I can be towed into Philly! Also I brought a 100' tape measure as I need to know the exact height of my mast as I will be going under the Delmar railroad bridge- doesn't raise too often (Amtrak), I left during mid tide and it's a low bridge I measure 45' top of mast to water.

Engine is still running and we get the hell out of Riverside. We actually have a really nice motor down the river- no problems. Get to the Delmar bridge and on the PA side they have exact height markings! 47' made it by 2 feet, not even my antenna hit! Made it to the marina half hour before high and get in and tied off to the t-dock!

Here's my view each morning when I get up - not bad. Will be at the T for about a month before I moved over to the wall at Pier 5.

 photo Sunrise-1.jpg
Comments
Vessel Name: Kodachrome
Vessel Make/Model: Nassau 34
Crew: Roland
Kodachrome's Photos - Main
Building my new bowsprit
9 Photos
Created 25 November 2013
Finally got launched and back in the water
4 Photos
Created 5 August 2013
Photos of the process of making my molded instrument panel for the cockpit
9 Photos
Created 22 February 2013
First couple of repairs
4 Photos
Created 9 December 2011
From Rock Hall to Riverside our late fall trip
16 Photos
Created 7 November 2011

Who: Roland