Kristinly

38' Island Packet cutter rigged sailboat - sailed 20,000 nautical miles from New England to the Bahamas. Now with new owners Tim & Susan Tiefenbach

17 June 2013 | Mallets Bay, VT
05 July 2012 | West Pont, NY
02 July 2012 | Brigantine Shoals near Little Egg Inlet, NJ
30 June 2012 | Reedy Island, Delaware River
26 June 2012 | Antipoison Creek, VA
23 June 2012 | Burlington, VT
28 March 2012 | Deltaville, VA
27 March 2012 | Deltaville, VA
26 March 2012 | Hampton, VA
25 March 2012 | Hampton, VA
24 March 2012 | South of Norfolk, VA
23 March 2012 | Elizabeth City, NC
22 March 2012 | Cedar Creek, NC
21 March 2012 | Wrightsville Beach, NC
20 March 2012 | Little River, NC
18 March 2012 | South Santee River, SC
17 March 2012 | Charleston, SC
17 March 2012 | Charleston, SC
16 March 2012 | NE of Savannah, GA

Cape Canaveral N28° 24.595' W80° 38.528'

08 May 2008 | 28 24.595N 80 38.528W
Randy
The day started out with a very bumpy ride out the inlet at Ft. Pierce, and then there were 3 - 4' swells and no wind for the first 5 or 6 hours, so motoring only. Later, the winds shifted from east to SE 10 - 15 kts, gusting to 20 kts. and for a couple hours, and then the last couple hours it was mostly 18 - 20 kts directly out of the south. Seas continued to build to about 5 - 6,, with an occasional 8 footer sprinkled in there. But Kristinly handles that stuff very well and makes for a comfortable ride. Bouncy at times, but not uncomfortable. I never got the jib up, sailing with just the mainsail all day. There are reasons for that but you don't care and I won't bore you with the details. Anyway, I was planning for 12 hours and that is what it took. Travelled 66 nm for an average of 5.6 nm/hr. Not bad considering the start I got. Left at 0600 and arrived at 1800. It's FM - if you want to know what that means, ask ... some of you know! It's rather foul and I won't dirty up this note with that explanation.

To get where I am I had to pass two cruise ships on their way out to sea in the narrow shipping channel at Cape Canaveral, and when they get between the wind and the boat, the wind doesn't just go away because they are so tall, but it actually reverses direction until you clear their stern. The first time had the boom swinging wildly from starboard to port, but I was ready for the second one. Joe was asking earlier today about my learning curve, and it is a steep one. I learn something everyday, sometimes lots. I never anticipated this phenomenon though. I guess when we met the ships down in Key West they must have been far enough away to not have that happen. Anyway, another lesson on the high seas. Then through a bascule bridge and a lock. This is not particularly well protected from the wind but the waves can't get to me, so it should be OK as I got a good anchor set. If you look this site up on Google maps, you will see I am right beside the lock. Tomorrow I will reverse direction back through the lock and out to the ocean.

I was hoping to meet Dick and Kay Axelson while here. You might remember they are the original owners of Kristinly (Kristenly to them), but the best two day window out of the next three for sailing overnight to St. Augustine is Friday/Saturday, and I am a ways from them, and I arrived rather late, so we will try it again next winter on the trip back south.

Time to shower and cook up some grub and then to bed. Planning to leave tomorrow at 0900 and sail overnight to St. Augustine. That will give me plenty of time to make port in the daylight.
Comments
Vessel Name: Kristinly
Vessel Make/Model: Island Packet 38, hull #83
Hailing Port: Mallets Bay, VT
Crew: Captain Randy Kruml, 1st Mate Nikki St Mary

Kristinly

Who: Captain Randy Kruml, 1st Mate Nikki St Mary
Port: Mallets Bay, VT