Lemons Way

Continuing adventures, observations, and images.

The End of the Beginning

Thank you for those who sent such kind and thoughtful condolences after Anne's loss. Sarah and I took her ashes up to her favorite hiking hill this past weekend, the same place we were engaged, and sprinkled them around a large saguaro growing at the top of the hill. Good 'ole Jake came along and made it up and down the hill without much trouble. He's done fine without Anne. I think he enjoys the extra attention. He doesn't seem to realize he is an old dog. I have been taking him with me most everywhere so he doesn't have to be alone.

You know, I was pretty sure when I closed my law practice and went sailing that I was done with the law, done with Tucson, done with everything I had build internally and externally. Turns out it wasn't the end after all. Rather, it was the end of the beginning.

Since I've been back I've done some of my best law work, I've settled dozens of other people's cases, I've taught law better then ever before, and I've found a human to share my life with. Giving up the good to go for the great has played out a whole lot differently than I ever imagined, but in a good way.

Comments