Lemons Way

Continuing adventures, observations, and images.

The Head/Shower

Another important part. There's no getting around the fact that the head smells like a head. You get used to it after a few days. All boats smell musty after a while and this one is no different. But after a few days on it, you don't even notice and it seems normal, until you are off for a day, then you notice again when you board. Regardless, I used that little toilet for almost three weeks and it performed pretty well overall. I use fresh water from the sink rather than seawater to flush with and I'm told it keeps in the tank better. I pumped out about once a week. I could have used the overboard discharge, but it is forbidden in inland waters and lakes. This boat has engine-fed hot water and a hot shower is always available with a few minutes of engine and hot water heater. There's also a shower on the stern, which would be great in warm weather. It holds about 80 gallons of water in three tanks, which is more than enough for the coastal cruiser. I'd have to ration if I was at sea for 30 days (about 2.5 gallons per day), but otherwise, water is plentiful to wash with, shower with, or whatever. I drink bottled water just to be extra safe and sure of the water that actually goes into my body.

Comments