Lemons Way

Continuing adventures, observations, and images.

Old Floor

I was hiking with the dogs through the ruins of the Prison Camp buildings and came across the last vestiges of what looks like a linoleum floor. I became fascinated with it. The tiles were almost completely removed (a very difficult job for those who have ever had the misfortune) except at the corner of the room, as if a bulldozer and demolition crew failed to complete their job entirely. As I studied other foundations, I discovered the same phenomenon again and again. I identified two colors which were used, a creme and a flaked red, presumably to match the red concrete floors they experimented with. Prison Camp was a Japanese internment and work camp during WWII. They helped build the Catalina Highway up Mt. Lemmon. I was taught about the internment camps in school, but I didn't know at the time we had one just outside of Tucson.

Comments