Lemons Way

Continuing adventures, observations, and images.

Captain's House Bed And Breakfast

The law office came to rest in early May. It is now mid-June. It has been over three weeks since we pulled away from the boulder canyon house in Tucson. I drove with the dogs across the country in the motor home. I picked up Matt two weeks ago in Atlanta and drove with him the rest of the way to Oriental, NC. We will have been in Oriental two weeks in a few days. How time flies. The refit is taking longer than expected, which is not unexpected in the world of sailing. I used to envy folks working on their sailboats in the yards for weeks or months at a time. What a simple life, I thought. And it is simple. But ultimately the cruising is the objective and there is the constant desire for the refit to be over so the cruise may begin. The refit takes time. Many who came before me experienced much, much longer purgatory working in the yard to get their boat ready to sail. I am determined to get the boat in the water by the end of the month, if not sooner. I can see there will be plenty to do on the boat in terms of maintenance, but most of that can be done from the water. So its off to work on the boat tomorrow and the day after and the day after until the refit is done.

Comments