Lemons Way

Continuing adventures, observations, and images.

Keith Soldering An Electrical Connection

Yes, that is me, soldering... and nobody got hurt. In fact, I have been improving my mechanical skills considerably over the last few weeks. I no longer have to ask Matt to reach into the tight places to screw on nuts and washers. Indeed, I have mastered the upside-down installation of nuts and washers (they used to fall into the worst crannies of the bilge every time I tried to install them). I know the names of the tools and how to work them and can often anticipate which ones we need before they are needed. Matt is yelling at me somewhat less than the first week, though I still get yelled at from time to time for some mechanical infraction. It reminds me of when I started doing law, except of course I'm not making any money doing this but rather spending it. Today, I found my niche, soldering and heat shrinking connectors onto the wires. It involves very hot fire, molten metal, and does not require crawling into the bowels of the sailboat - perfect combination. We are finally onto the electrical wiring phase of the install!

Comments