Lemons Way

Continuing adventures, observations, and images.

We Walk To The Boat This Morning

I woke up early, not quite before the sun came up, in order to connect the solar panels to the charge controller, through the 30 amp fuse, and to the battery. It showed power immediately but it kept fluxuating back to zero. I thought there must be a short somewhere because I could see the power level rising as the sun came up, then it would go to zero. I checked and everything looked fine. I didn't know what else to do so I walked the dogs home and came back about an hour or two later when the sun was shining. The charge controller showed steady and increasing power. I disconnected the battery bank from shore power and officially took my sailboat off of the "grid." By 10:00 in the morning, with the refrigerator, radio, and some other very small draws running, the voltage peaked at 14 and the red light went on indicating the controller was cutting off the solar power because the batteries had as much power as they should take. The wind turbine hasn't run yet due to lack of wind in the yard, but even if there was wind, it would brake itself because its charge controller would detect full batteries too. We'll see how long I can go before I have to go back on shore power. I won't have solar power at night so the system will run down then, then we can see if the solar can recharge it during the day and keep the battery bank at full charge or not. I imagine it will also depend largely on whether. At least we're using some of this hot weather to our advantage.

Comments