Lemons Way

Continuing adventures, observations, and images.

Rigid Inflatable Dingy Tube Is Installed

After breakfast and a stop at the local Saturday farmers market, I headed back out to tackle the dingy tube. I was worried that I wouldn't be able to get the tube on by myself as it is pretty heavy and awkward and has to fit into a narrow track, but as you can see, I managed. The directions suggested soapy water so I brought over a hose, sprayed everything, made up a batch of suds, and went to it. After about an hour of sweaty adjusting I got it all aligned properly. I still need to reinstall the drain plug with the new gasket Walker Bay sent under warrenty and I would like to sand and varnish the oars, but the latter project will likely wait until we are underway. Believe it or not, I am now on the final checklist to splash in. This afternoon I will pull out the Hydrovane drive unit, review the instructions, and prepare it for installation today or tomorrow. I've got some touch-up to do on the bottom paint and some odds and ends on the engine and rigging, then I think I'm going to schedule her in the water Monday or at the latest Tuesday. The Rebounder is paid up until Thursday. My plan at this point is to get the boat in the water while the dogs are cozy (and out of the way) in the motorhome. I can spend some time testing and adjusting and packing the boat while at Deaton's dock and fix anything that still needs fixing while I'm there. Then I'll move the boat about 2 miles and anchor it at the sheltered marina just beyond the town dock. Once the boat is set, I can dingy into town and walk back to the motorhome and slowly get the dogs adjusted to the boat. Thursday or Friday the RV gets moved into the long-term storage spot and Jake, Anne, and I will move onto Tropical Dreamer. I'm sure we will miss the air conditioning most of all. The boat has AC, but it requires shore power. I'm going to try and hook up my honda generator so we will have relief during the hottest hours of the day, but I need a special connection that isn't easily found. One step at a time.

Comments