Lemons Way

Continuing adventures, observations, and images.

Fireworks From The Deck Of Tropical Dreamer

For a small town, Oriental put on amazing display. Watching from the deck of the sailboat was very special. I kept the dogs down below so they would be safe. The word in the harbor was that a big storm was coming later in the evening so I battened up the hatches before I went to sleep. Sure enough, past midnight, it hit. 3 inches of rain, winds gusting past 30 mph. I wasn't too sure about my anchor and chain and sat and watched for about an hour but it held fast. Eventually I went below and watched tv to distract me. Anne got a little needy during the storm; Jake slept right through it. I'm pleased to say the cabin remained almost completely watertight in spite of the huge amount of water coming over us. A dry cabin on a wet night is a great comfort. Woke up this morning, emptied the zodiac of water, took the dogs to shore, and enjoyed a very long morning walk.

Comments