Lemons Way

Continuing adventures, observations, and images.

Bahamas Charts And Guides Galore

The Austrailian couple I spent time with while in Charleston are slowly sailing around the world. They started in Austrailia (obviously) and have worked their way this far after many years. I can see why they are hanging out in Charleston as this is a major port for world cruisers and an interesting city with a good vibe. For me it was just an enjoyable and easy stop along the ICW. The Austrailian couple sailed across the Atlantic and landed in the Carribian, where they evidently hung out for a long time. As part of those travels, they geared up for serious cruising in the Bahamas. Unfortunately, their 40 foot boat (Magnum) draws 7 feet and that was too much for a lot of the good Bahamas anchorages. I draw 4.5 feet - much, much better. They determined they were not going to cruise back there even though they are going back to the Carribian this winter. Maybe I'll see them there. In the meantime, I can now travel from the top to the bottom of the Bahamas with these great charts and guides I bought from them for a fraction of the cover prices. I've already started studying them as I expect to be ready for the crossing in the next several weeks.

Comments