Lemons Way

Continuing adventures, observations, and images.

Stranded In Hilton Head

We're not going to get a hurricane here this time but it is getting rather blowy outside. I wouldn't want to be traveling some of the more technical and narrow parts of the ICW with gusty conditions - especially not our next leg through Georgia, where the ICW is reputed to be in its worst state in terms of unmaintained shoaling. No, we are stuck here and the system is presently stationary - just sitting there churning out bad weather. It's going to be cloudy, windy, and rainy for the next few days or more according to the forecast while the thing moves slowly west. Part of me wishes I didn't have so much information from the internet about the weather so I could assure myself however falsely that I'm leaving real soon. But, as I said before, there are certainly worse places to get stranded. I've got four secure dock lines and 5 bumpers between the boat and the dock. The a/c is still working. It seems we'll survive this first serious storm of our sailing adventures.

Comments