Lemons Way

Continuing adventures, observations, and images.

Dragon Point Anchorage

What a day. I didn't get out until 11:00 a.m. because I was hanging out again in the shade with the guys at the Titusville Marina. A small rainstorm came through before we departed and foretold a day marked by wind and waves. It was heaviest during the first few hours, with winds gusting over 20 mph and waves that hit the side of the sailboat, came up into the air, then blew into the cockpit. Now I appreciate the dodger. I think the cabin is pretty much dried out from the spray that came into the ports before I closed them on the windward side (forgive me the terminology, but we're in Rome now, so to speak). With all that wind, often coming from the beam, I had to do some sailing and that added a knot or two to my speed throughout the day. I traveled 32 knots between 11:00 a.m and about 5:30 p.m., which isn't bad. This anchorage is sweet. It is protected from the east winds that are stirring from Ike, it is scenic, and there is a major shopping area within a short walk. I met a local (meaning local living on a sailboat and not actually cruising) who showed me the secret dingy dock, which has a great area for the dogs to run. Seeing a supermarket and a pizza joint within walking distance of a dingy dock is like finding the holy grail. There's even a petsupermart in the shopping center. I could live in this anchorage for a week if I wasn't meeting someone in Palm Beach on Friday. Regardless, I may have to do some more shopping tomorrow morning before I move on. It should go without saying that we had pizza tonight for dinner. I made the salad.

Comments