Lemons Way

Continuing adventures, observations, and images.

Fried Conch With An Assortment Of Pepper Sauces

We're spending another relaxed day in Green Turtle Key. Jodi's flight leaves tomorrow and she wants to just completely relax this afternoon with her 1970's rock and roll music. I can dig. Had a little mishap with the dingy and found it almost sunk this morning, but I straightened it all out and got it back into action without too much trouble. Unfortunately it has another small leak so I will need to patch it when Jodi leaves. For the time being I have to pump it a bit once or twice a day. We made it into town after coffee and a little haircut for me... well maybe more than a little one. The dogs were lounging away the morning and didn't really rush to get into shore to do their thing. The first item on the agenda after landing the dingy was to make sure we knew where to catch the ferry to Treasure Cay airport. I already knew but Jodi wanted to be sure. It is a short pleasant walk from our dingy beach to the harbor. We went there last night on the evening walk and took refuge under a little roof/shelter as a summer shower passed by. It was nice. Jodi went off to buy gifts and I took the dogs to the park in the center of town with bronzes of important people. A lot of the inhabitants are descendants of loyalists. Loyalists, as you may not have learned in American History, were loyal to the British during the American revolutionary war. Also called Torries, these folks weren't too welcome in the US after the British lost the war. They eventually had to leave the country and came here. That may explain their unusual accents. I've been meeting all these people who descend from many generations here and they are generally wonderful and nice people. While Jodi was shopping I wound up (or should I say Jake and Anne wound up) finding this woman strolling her baby to her husband's work site. We all talked for about half an hour or more and finally I had to leave and find Jodi. They would have continued another hour and probably did after I left. Very laid back around these parts. Not a lot of rushing going on. Jodi was waiting for us at the dingy landing. I wasn't ready to go back and Jodi was easily convinced to take another walk to that awesome beach. Of course I was also hoping that our English friend and her dog from yesterday would be there. And she was. So was her mom, from South Africa. Cool woman. They also have two other kids, one of which goes to school here and takes the ferry every day to Marsh Harbor. We talked until it became too hot. They invited us over to their house for a drink this evening. Jodi isn't into that sort of thing, but I'm quite social when traveling so I may go and then meet Jodi for whatever she wants to do on her final night cruising the Bahamas... Oh, the picture. We had breakfast at Daves this morning and had an order of fried conch. Very good there. The guy is a hot pepper collector or something and these are the brands I wanted to try. My favorite was the Pickappers brand from Jamaica. The Ass Blaster was by far the hottest, literally taking my breath away. I'm kind of a pepper sauce fan and have several varieties on the boat at present, so it was fun for to try a little on those tender pieces of breaded fried conch. I walked out of there stuffed and on fire.

Comments