Lemons Way

Continuing adventures, observations, and images.

Back On The Original Magic Carpet

I'm enjoying a cup of hot coffee made on board as the morning light comes up on this chilly morning. Slept somewhat fitfully from 10:00 p.m. until 6:00 a.m. At least it was warm and cozy and I didn't have to worry about the anchor dragging or the weather changing in the middle of the night. After walking the dogs this morning I'll fill up with water and fuel (and propane at some point since I'm using a lot of it to heat the place at night), do the final checks on the motorhome, and head off towards Omaha, where my sister and her family live. I mapped out the voyage from Oriental to Omaha to Tucson and it's almost 3000 miles without detours. Fortunately the price of gas is 1/2 what it was when I came this way early last summer. The engine oil looks good so I think I will forgo changing it at this time. The place in Bayboro can't get me in until later this afternoon and I don't really want to hang around waiting. The existing oil has 3000 miles on it but its all highway miles and I did some research on the net that indicates 6000 miles or more between oil changes in a traveling motorhome is fine. I'll keep my eye on it but it's not black at all right now - looks almost as amber as new oil. Other fluids look fine too. I've got the AAA RV coverage still active so if it breaks down on me or if I blow a tire or something, I've got some coverage to get it fixed or towed. Imagine what it costs to tow a 34 foot motorhome without AAA... Lets hope I never find out. For those of you who are looking for sailing adventures, I'm afraid I've got nothing more to share in that regard for a while. Having not received a single offer on my Catalina 25 for sale in Phoenix, I will likely retrieve it upon my return to Tucson for more sailing adventures in the Sea of Cortez or elsewhere since it sits on a trailer, which, thanks to Matt, is in better condition than when I bought it (Matt, we'll have work out compensating you for all your quality work). My effort to sell my GMC 2500 truck while I was gone was also a complete failure (thanks to the gas prices and the economy I guess) so I unexpectedly have a great truck when I return (as well as the two motorbikes I kept, one of which is on a versahaul on the back of the motorhome. I bought the truck mainly so I would have a vehicle big enough to tow the Catalina 25 (and transport the dogs, of course). So, as it turns out, I have a great trailerable sailboat and a great vehicle that will take it anywhere... maybe things have worked out for the best in terms of future sailing adventures. There are places I can go with the small sailboat that would be impractical to bring the big boat to right now (like the Sea of Cortez, Catalina Island off the southern, California coast, the lakes in far northern Arizona like Powel and Mead and Rosevelt, maybe Tahoe... anywhere near a road).Until then, its just RV adventuring for several more weeks at least. I'll try and take some nice pictures. Frankly, I'm happy to be off the boat and back in the motorhome. It's a nice change. The dogs appear quite contented too. Looking forward to seeing family, friends, and maybe even looking into working upon my return to Tucson. With this economy, I don't know yet how I'll be received in the working world, or vice versa.

Comments