Lemons Way

Continuing adventures, observations, and images.

Last Inner Banks Southern Food

What you're seeing there are southern sides. I stopped at Kings again on the way back home. Those familiar with southern food will distinguish the various dishes. The rest of you, get ye to a southern buffet, preferably one in the actual south or southeast. I couldn't find it on the way in because we came a different way and because the Piggly Wiggly pig was on top of the Kings sign and that messed me up, coming from Tucson as I do. The food was even better this time, having accepted that North Carolina BBQ contains no red sauce and uses instead a vinegary concoction that is almost clear but is still tasty. I only made it about 190 miles west today because I stopped so many times for various supplies. We're presently in Mebane, North Carolina camped out at a Walmart. It's nice. Quiet. except I'm using the generator to heat the place and power the computer just like I did in the summer with the air conditioners. Aside from that I'm about to feed the dogs and then make foray into the SuperWalmart for something fun to eat for dessert. Wish me luck.

Comments