Lemons Way

Continuing adventures, observations, and images.

Home Made Waffles

Did you forget about my food pictures? With time on my hands, I've been able to cook for myself frequently. I've gotten into healthy eating - lots of fruits and veggies, whole grains, nuts and seeds... that sort of thing. This morning I made honey whole wheat waffles from scratch. They came out great, but not as sweet as the ones that come frozen from the store. I've been cutting out a lot of sugar lately. When I had a big bowl of honey nut shredded wheat cereal yesterday I didn't understand why I had a headache afterward until I read the ingredients; sugar is the second ingredient - and the milk is full of sugar too. I know these home-made waffles are healthy and I can pop them from the freezer to the toaster in the mornings when I want them. Pity the picture can't convey the aroma. I made bagels a few weeks ago and they came out great too. I'll do up another batch in the next week or so and show it off on the blog. In the meantime, the recipe for the waffles depicted above is located at http://www.mrbreakfast.com/superdisplay.asp?recipeid=619.

Comments