18 October 2011
11 October 2011 | Puerto Rico
04 October 2011 | Puerto Rico
03 October 2011 | Florida
03 October 2011 | Dominican Republic
22 April 2011 | Fort Lauderdale, FL
01 December 2010
16 June 2010 | Between Florida and the Bahamas
15 June 2010 | Cat Key, Bimini - Bahamas
14 June 2010 | Bimini, Bahamas
12 June 2010 | 24 27.5'N:79 45.0W
12 June 2010 | 25 5.4'N:80 25.8'W
26 May 2010 | NAPFA National Conference
06 May 2010 | Fort Luderdale to Key Largo
03 May 2010 | Fort Lauderdale, Fl
06 April 2010
29 March 2010 | Fort Lauderdale, FL
20 February 2010

BALANCING ACT

04 October 2011 | Puerto Rico
Scott Leonard with Zoe Alexander
When was the last time you played hide-and-seek? Or built a sand castle? Imagine your daily calendar as follows: snorkel, read the morning paper, email office and clients, build sand castle, conference call, play hide-and-seek. That's my work/life balance.

My

It's easier than I thought to mix work and family. And, as our lives are much simpler - no after-school commitments, TV, or play dates - we have more time to spend together. After dinner we take walks along the beach.

Technology has really liberated me in how I approach a work/life balance. My office on the boat resembles a little nook at the Mac store. I am connected to the California office via my iMac, iPad and iPhone. Being connected this way enables me to handle the boat and the kids while being available to the office. This multi-tasking energizes me because it keeps my contact with the business lean and focused and I am able to participate in most of the boys' daily activities. Our days are structured around their school, which starts promptly at 8:00 AM. Jake and Griffin have Math first, so I sit between them, read the Wall Street Journal on my iPad, have coffee, and help them when needed.

Morning Paper, Coffee, and Math

A big part of our days are spent at the family table, either with school or meals; and it is where the Leonard family multi-tasks best. We eat most meals together, so we use that time to review school assignments. Many of the boys' assignments provide discussion sections, so Mandi and I lead the discussion topics, and the boys bounce ideas off of us as well as each other. This process has helped build critical thinking skills in the boys - a valuable skill to encourage at any age. The "round-table" nature of these discussions also really helps ensure that they grasp the material.

We have always been an active family, and discovered that morning exercise helps the boys sit through school. That job has fallen to me. Also, during the school day, we try and take a recess to expend some more energy. Again, my job. And it's a win-win because I get to exercise with the boys. Yeah, I could drink coffee and greet the day in front of a screen, but this routine brings harmony to the day. Some of the activities we enjoy are walking around the local towns, kayaking, stand up paddleboard, Pilates on the boat, swimming, snorkeling and water polo.




One of the best parts of our trip- and it is by design - is that there are so few life distractions that we just spend time together. I love walking down the beach at night, holding hands with my boys. Or when we sail at night and one of the boys can't sleep, we watch the stars and contemplate life on other planets. And, after we put the boys to sleep, Mandi and I have time to be together to talk. Sounds simple, but we rarely did that on land- we were either too busy or too tired. Striking a work/family balance involves navigating each day by what is truly important, and being able to wear many hats. You'd be surprised how efficient balance is if you take time to think it through. Trust me, it's worth it.

Click for More Photos
Comments
Vessel Name: Three Little Birds
Vessel Make/Model: Lagoon 500
Crew: Scott, Mandi, Griffin, Jake and Luke
About: The Leonard Family is in year one of a three year global sailing expedition. Follow our adventure at our web site, www.threelittlebirds.org
Extra: www.threelittlebirds.org www.facebook.com/sailingontlb
Home Page: www.threelittlebirds.org
Social:

Three Little Birds

Who: Scott, Mandi, Griffin, Jake and Luke