Life aboard Leprechaun

Cruising towards our dream, in search of the pot o'gold

19 July 2012 | Bayfield and Twin Cities
13 July 2012 | Houghton, MI
12 July 2012 | Outer Keweenaw, MI
11 July 2012 | Marquette, MI
10 July 2012 | Munising, MI
09 July 2012 | Grand Marais, MI
08 July 2012 | Whitefish Point
06 July 2012 | Sault Ste. Marie, MI
05 July 2012 | DeTour Village, MI
04 July 2012 | Roger City, MI
03 July 2012 | Presque Isle, MI
02 July 2012 | Harrisville, MI
01 July 2012 | East Tawas, MI
30 June 2012 | Harbor Beach, MI
29 June 2012 | Port Sanilac, MI
28 June 2012 | Lake St. Clair, MI
27 June 2012 | Lake St. Clair, MI
26 June 2012 | Grosse Ile, MI
25 June 2012 | Put in Bay, OH
23 June 2012

Time is running out...

09 March 2010 | Big Major Spot, Exuma
John and Cheryl
Cheryl's Notes:

We survived the super cell cold front and have moved back up to Big Majors Spot on Friday. We hit the grocery store right away when the provision boat came in (it had been delayed in Nassau until then), and we were still ten people back in line. We dropped off our extra propane tank to be filled. They do not have a pressure filler here, just a gravity tank. You drop off your tank one day, and hope that it is filled by the next day. It depends on how many tanks are in front of yours. When we dropped our tank off, there were already six tanks ahead of us. It was a little windy on Saturday and the water was choppy, so we didn't get the tank picked up until Monday (they are closed on Sundays). Just Limin left us yesterday to head up north and home. We are going to wait a few more days and maybe start home next week. We are hoping to hook up in the next few days with some of our other cruising friends that are also heading north for home. Just as we didn't want to cross over east alone, we are hoping to join a small flotilla

I made a major error in judgment last week. Let me preface by saying that the wind had been blowing for two days already, and with the strong current running through our anchorage, we had a few sleepless nights. On the last day of the blow, I had been up on anchor watch since three in the morning. I haven't had a haircut since Vero Beach, and that was right after Thanksgiving. I had decided that I would let it grow out so that I would have more styling options for Megan's wedding. The lack of sleep caused my to completely snap, and I handed John the clippers (with the longest blade attached) and said "cut it all off, I can't stand it anymore". In John's defense, he refused until I threatened him with bodily harm or that I would just do it myself. Well, the longest attachment didn't make much difference when John moved the clippers right up the back of my scalp. I look like a new recruit for the armed services. John is horrified, but I have let him off the hook. It is not his fault, I was a woman on a mission. This is just a warning to family and friends when we post new pictures. Yes, I am the second boy in all of the pictures. The good news is that the wedding is still four months away and my hair grows really fast.

John's Notes:

Let me be the first to say that "high and tight" is not my idea of a haircut for my wife. Might be ok for Peyton Manning or Howie Long but not Cheryl. I was against this program from the start. I think that the adverse weather we have had for the last couple of months finally got her to "snap." Film at 11:00.

The migration has already started. Almost everyone we talk with are headed back north. Everyone says that this was a very unusual year. That's what we heard about last year. Of course, we heard that this was going to be an "El Nino" year. Did we pay any attention? NO! You get what you deserve I guess.

We are looking forward to getting back home. If the weather had cooperated it might be difficult to leave here. No matter what, we have had yet another great experience (I keep telling myself that). We really have.

Looking at the weather forecast, it's probably a good thing that we are starting home now. If you remember, we spent three weeks in Miami waiting to cross over. If we have the same problem getting back, we won't be home till at least May 1st.

One final note. We have met even more cruisers from the Twin Cities and Bayfield. Yesterday we met a couple from New Brighton and Minnetonka. The couple from New Brighton keep their boat at the Madeline Island Yacht Club. The guy from Minnetonka has his boat at our old marina, Port Superior. He was on the next dock over near Doris-E. I don't have their boat cards with me at the moment and you know how I am with names. I know the guy from Port's boats name begins with a "P" I'll have to look at my old list. He said that he has only been there for about six years.
Comments
Vessel Name: Leprechaun
Vessel Make/Model: 1999 Catalina 36mkII
Hailing Port: Bayfield, WI
Crew: John and Cheryl
About: John grew up in San Francisco and received his first boat for his seventh birthday. He has owned a boat since that day. His father and grandfather were both ship captains. His dream has always been to live on the water and travel to new places and spend his retirement years cruising.
Extra:
Cheryl started dating John ten years ago. On their third date he uttered the words that would change her life forever. "Did I mention that I own a boat?" She fell in love with John and her love of sailing quickly followed. When he mentioned his retirement dreams, she was the first to say "Let's [...]

The Crew

Who: John and Cheryl
Port: Bayfield, WI