Ya Ha Ha Ting

The fun times aboard Liquid Therapy. With - Susan and Brooke Smith

Air Tank

Sunday the 7th of March, 2010
Susan & I went down and took everything back to the boat we had taken home to keep from freezing. Yep we know there will be more below freezing nights. But, we are pretty sure the days will be warming up from here on into summer.
My goal was to finish hooking the relocated fresh water pump back up. I had sort of messed up the accumulator tank getting the hoses off. The accumulator tanks are pretty small and help short cycling the water pump but are not as good as the well-x-troll air tanks used in homes. I saw a small home type air tank and Nauti-Nell's consignment ($30) in Deltaville and with $7.00 of fittings from Hurd's, I had a nice replacement for the small accumulator. So, today was the day to mount and connect all the extended water hoses and new air tank. Of course the first thing you have to do is undo something in order to work on WHATEVER you are trying to work on. I had to take some slack out of the new head-holding tank hose. I had coiled it in the bilge as it is too long and was waiting to install the new forward head to cut it to the proper length. Susan pulled and I pushed the hateful hose. It is the worst hose I've even dealt with. It has bad memory issues with being coiled up in a box at West Marine and just refuses to go in any desired direction. I finally got it out of the way and mounted the air tank to the bilge overhead and a strap to the forward bilge bulkhead. Using a hairdryer to heat the water hoses is great for getting them on the T's and barbs. I secured the hoses to the forward bulkhead with pipe clamps and admired the neatness. Now if the marina will just turn on the water to the dock so we can flush out the pink antifreeze and check the connections for leaks. At least this task is complete and scratched off the TO DO list. We got a call from our friends, Wanda and Windy. They were at the marina and wanted to drop by. I think they were in shock when they saw the inside of the boat with tools parts and stuff all over everywhere. Pretty overwhelming looking for sure. It will be straightened up soon & we will have them on board for a cruise.


Comments