Ya Ha Ha Ting

The fun times aboard Liquid Therapy. With - Susan and Brooke Smith

Day 38 Friday, November 27, 2015

Port Royal Landing Marina
The marina is closed today so I’ve helped a few boats get underway and dock. Sort of the un-official dock master.

I thought I’d straighten up some storage areas and try to wash some of the sea foam off the boat.Sea Foam you usually see at the beach when it’s really windy. But, hey at Port Royal the current rips and the wind blows and you get sea foam blowing on to the boat sides and some flew up on the stern cabin too. When it dries it’s tough to wash off.

But as things often happen on a boat one intended task leads to another un-intended task. When I raised the aft deck hatch and pulled everything out to put it all back in there nice and neat I discovered a leak in the hull near the rudder reinforced fiberglass, or maybe two. I tried to seal the area with some quick setting epoxy but the leak continues. It’s actually more of a seep than a leak. But I am puzzled to what is going on there. So, we are going to have to have the boat lifted out of the water to be fixed.

I called one of my Deltaville boat technician fiends that is from Georgia and asked him for recommendations of a boat yard that does good work with reasonable prices. Lucky for us is that facility is only about a mile from here. So, Monday we will try to get on their schedule for a haul out. We hope this is a quick fix that get us back on our way soon.

But what caused the leak? I did run around, but not hard aground, about a week ago. Didn’t think much about that as it was soft and I was expecting it from lots of sources I had read about the area. I easily got off. I might have hit something as since all of the flooding in South Carolina has lots of logs floating about. But anyhow, today was a downer.

After we called it quits for the day, Susan and I grabbed a shower at the marina and a band was setting up. So, we went into the marina restaurant with our shower bags and had a nice dinner and listened to the band. They were quite good for 4 pieces playing lots of 60s and 70s songs everyone knew.

Today’s picture is obviously an Anheiser Busch keg, modified for use as something on a shrimp boat. What? I don’t know.


Comments