Ya Ha Ha Ting

The fun times aboard Liquid Therapy. With - Susan and Brooke Smith

Sunday June 4, 2017

Passage Captain’s Landing Marina to Manteo Waterfront Marina
6:30 AM Underway
3:06 PM Docked Port side to slip 13
10.1 engine hours 58 Nautical Miles

Nice trip today. A bit warm and very little wind this morning as we traveled up the Pamlico Sound. Really didn’t want to leave as the OcraFolk Festival still had some more performances. However, the weather is not going to be good tomorrow. So, off we went and we were not alone as there were lots of boats getting underway today to beat the looming weather. Most everyone went different directions. I was behind a sailboat most of the day headed north on about the same course. He was making 7.5 knots and I was doing 6.8. He was also 65’ in length which makes his hull speed greater than our 36’ boat. Read all about hull speed here https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hull_speed if you want to. But the take away is that the longer a boat is, the faster it is capable of going before it gets up on plane. Liquid Therapy is a traditional trawler incapable of getting on plane. Same as sailboats and large ships.
The weather forecast was spot on today. Just as we exited the Pamlico Sound into the channels leading to the Roanoke Sound the wind started picking up behind us. So much in fact that when I went to turn into the Manteo channel the boat did not respond to my turn at our slow speed. I added power to throw more water across the rudder to no avail. The wind force on the bow vowed not to let Liquid Therapy turn into the wind, and I overshot the entrance marker going on the wrong side of the marker and yes AGROUND. Don’t panic as we are on a rising tide and it’s just soft sand. I started to back off the situation or I could power my way forward. The wind was causing lots of wave action and I just nudged my way forward untilI was back in the very shallow channel and only a little boat handling pride was hurt. Susan might not even notice. But, not much gets by the admiral when she said “Did we just run aground?” I affirmed that in fact we had.
Well I redeemed myself when it was time to dock. In all the wind I backed Liquid Therapy into the slip without touching a piling. I’m not all that good when it’s calm. But anyhow, it was a good show for a few people on the dock. I always say about docking,”If there is not an insurance claim, it was a good docking maneuver.”
A guy walking by asked if he might see the inside of our boat. We explained it was not quite up for inspection but invited him aboard as he was very interested in a trawler. Then, his wife and two children were aboard. Then his father. It turned into quite a treat for them. The guy had been injured in Iraq and was noticeable mentally slow. I didn’t ask what happened but was glad to show the veteran and his family around Liquid Therapy. I wish him all the best.
Tomorrow we are headed to Coinjock. The Albemarle sound might be a bit choppy. But the wind should be out of the south and we will be headed north, or as is said we will have a following sea. Liquid Therapy is not annoyed with a following sea as much as many other hull style boats. So, I’m expecting a pretty good ride until we get in the protected ICW waters leading to Norfolk. We are only going 35 miles tomorrow. Should take a little less than 6 hours.
Today’s picture is the dredge Merritt moving sand out of Ocracoke’s channel. It’s a constant battle that keeps the Ocracoke Ferries and all boaters on their toes.


Comments