Ya Ha Ha Ting

The fun times aboard Liquid Therapy. With - Susan and Brooke Smith

Passage - Georgetown - Mount Pleasant - Edisto Island,SC

Saturday, November 18, 2017
Passage - Harborwalk Marina - Toler Cove Marina, Mount Pleasant, SC
60 miles 9.5 Engine Hours
7:51AM Underway
3:56PM Docked port side to slip B18 Tower Cove Marina

AND

Sunday, November 1, 2017
Passage - Toler Cove Marina - The Marina At Edisto Island
54 miles 8.5 Engine Hours
8:56AM Underway
4:09PM Docked port side to at the Clemson Flag area transient dock

OK everyone. I was just exhausted Saturday after piloting through some very shallow water for much of the day. Sunday was more challenging in the Dawho River. It really was very low with only 3 feet under my keel or less in most of this “RIVER”. Saturday it was McClellanville area most of the way to Isle Of Palms, SC that was shallow. I should run off shore. Except Saturday after running hard against the tide and a long day, I ended up with more water in the primary fuel filter. I’ve been running on the starboard tank and I believe that tank has water in it. Sunday I ran on BOTH fuel tanks and there is no water in the filter. I feel sure that when I am using both fuel tanks that it is easier to pull fuel out of the port fuel tank that has no water in it than lift water from the starboard tank. The port tank always gets lower than the starboard tank when I should be drawing down evenly. In the past I have dismissed the port tank being lower as the excess fuel sent to the injection pump is returned to the starboard tank only. That’s why I figured the port tank ends up higher than the starboard tank when running on both tanks. This situation may have been around for some time. With time and enough filters it should clear up.

I was exhausted Saturday after running with the tiring and sun in my eyes. I couldn’t plan Sunday’s passage. I did change the fuel filter even in my exhausted state. But I couldn’t write the blog. I just ate and fell asleep hard.
Sunday, after planning the passage, we didn’t get underway until almost 9AM. The wind was up a bit as we entered Charleston Harbor. The boat took a lot of spray but the ride was fine. After crossing the Charleston Harbor all would be calm as we enter the rivers and cuts of the ICW. We were having a nice ride until we went up the Elliot cut. We met the outgoing tide and had a slow climb up to the Stono River. Once entering the the Stono we got good push that carried us all the way to Isle of Palms, SC where we docked at Tower Cove Marina.
I was more relaxed Sunday with good until we entered the Dawho River. I couldn’t find more than about 6 ft no matter where I steered. The middle of this river had as much river and I plowed on through with the current dropping the level more and slowing me to under 5 knots. Finally entering the South Edisto River I got a favorable outgoing tide sweeping us toward Edisto Island. We got to the marina just a little after 4 PM. Earlier against the tide my route estimator was showing 8:30 PM. We are certainly in the high current and large tide swing areas of the ICW.
Today we are headed to one of our favorite places, Port Royal Landing Marina. We will be staying there for several days and having Thanksgiving there.
Today’s picture is Susan getting the salt spray off the windows.


Comments