Lil' Kahuna

01 February 2012 | Everett,WA
03 November 2011 | everett,WA
01 September 2010 | Everett, Wa
23 August 2010 | Everett, Wa
17 August 2010 | Everett, WA
16 August 2010 | Everett, WA
13 August 2010 | Everett, Washington
12 August 2010 | Everett, Wa

Trying to convince my better half

13 August 2010 | Everett, Washington
Imas Sakin/ Sunny 85.
It's good to have some good backup from friends who have similar dreams and more experience than you. Especially when you're trying to share your dreams with your spouse who would probably have never thought of owning a sail boat much less imagined a whole world of people who live on them and sail them around the world. My friend Bob has a Cal 31 Jollygood moored at Shilshoe Bay marina in Seattle. His wife Diane is much more of the adventurous type than my Dayna. They annually take Jollygood up to the San Juan Islands and Canada for 2 weeks. We recently spent the weekend with them off Camano Island in the Puget Sound. I had the whole family on board for our first overnight adventure. We had a great time but I was worried about the anchorage being too exposed to the incoming tide. Bob had dropped his anchor and we tided off to Jollygood. The rocking of the incoming tide lasted all night and it felt amplified on my tiny 22 footer. I barely slept going over all of my knots in my mind wondering if I forgot something. Every noise I heard I tried to indentify and even got up several times to secure whatever it was that was banging. The family slept like babies and everyone woke up the next morning in good spirits so I guess I just was over reacting. We had breakfast on Jollygood and bid Bob and Diane farewell as I motored back to Everett. I figured I had one chance to convince my wife that this was a great way to live and spend our summer weekends. I spent my weekend making sure everyone had a great time. Judging by the smiles everyone had upon our return I think I succeeded.
Comments
Vessel Name: Lil' Kahuna
Vessel Make/Model: Tanzer 22
Hailing Port: Everett, Washington
Crew: Captain Imas & First Mate Dayna Sakin
About: Imas 33 sails a 1977 Tanzer 22, is a first time sail boat owner and long time dreamer. He is sailing the Puget Sound with wife and 2 young boys and holding on to a dream to sail the world with his wife.

s/v Lil' Kahuna

Who: Captain Imas & First Mate Dayna Sakin
Port: Everett, Washington