Voyage of s/v Living Well

01 March 2014 | Beaufort SC.
18 January 2013
18 January 2013
18 January 2013 | Fort Lauderdale
17 January 2013
17 January 2013 | Fort Lauderdale
07 January 2013 | Fort Pierce Fl.
12 January 2012 | Anchored Wappoo Creek
31 October 2011 | Washington marina in DC
15 September 2010
08 April 2009 | Washington DC
18 January 2009 | Rock Hold Marina Deale MD.
05 August 2008 | Washington D.C.
30 June 2008
30 June 2008
27 June 2008
26 June 2008
25 June 2008 | Indan River
23 June 2008 | Fort Pierce

The trip from hell Home

17 January 2013
Steve
So a little history, first the "we in this story is Laura my Ex." We bought the Irwin 30+ years ago.
Current..Gloria my wife and I say "Its never that simple"
As I write this and remember the good, the great, and the we are going to die moments I recall a Bob Bitchin story of how your life should be defined by the --- in your life. For those of you who did not see this article he remarked that,
Born 1951---Died 20?? is not the story it is the --- it is more important to have a thick and robust --- than a long thin uneventfull ---.
So this brings us to the trip home, very green sailors, what's a gulf stream report?, we Have to be Home on Monday, our friends have done this many times before, they must know what they are doing. So you get the picture, We Did Not Have a Clue.
The approamently 40 miles took 18 hours, the seas 15+ with random 20 footer, the bow taking 3' of green water and the boat coming to a complete stop on each wave. Our friends on thier 42' Morgan would go completly out of sight for 2 to 3 waves before we would see them again and they were only 100 yards away. We all took turn at the wheel as it was exhusting, myself, Laura, Ivan ( a coworker whom I have not seen till this coming weekend, 30+ years) and my 8th grade son. Scared, I must have been but I only remember I just wanted it to stop. But I do remember watching a light in the sky follow us for the last 6 hours of the trip that turned out to be a dirigable being towed coming into Miami also, I remember Laura tring to make something for us to eat (sould have been impossible) I remember seeing Shave on the v-berrth and his body lift a foot of the bed then back down on each wave and he seemed to be sleeping. I remember Finally getting to the customs dock and having to wait an hour for the agents to show up then ask to inspect the boat (Ha Ha he only looked in the companionway and saw the Labrador stuck to the floor, Laura on the setee and the boat had Thrown Up is the only description) he had to think if they are smuggling anything they will never do that again, I remember telling everyone to go to sleep as I took the boat the last 5-6 miles to the marina then running hard agound at the mouth of the Miami river, I remember throwing an extra 20' of rode out (we were only in 5' of water) and going to sleep. Do I remember the (we are going to die moment) not so much, but enough not to ever do that again. XXXXX Scheduals XXXXX
My son says, a best memory and that he could have had me arrested for child endagerment on the same trip. I guess he gets it.... a long thick-----is best.

I must be crazy I think I was smiling while I wrote this!
Comments
Vessel Name: Living Well
Vessel Make/Model: 1983 Island Trader
Hailing Port: Quad Cities, IL.
Crew: Steve & Gloria Stanforth
About: Steve living aboard 30years Gloria living aboard 9 years
Extra: We are cruising mainly the east coast of the US right now, with side trips to the Bahamas and the west coast of Florida.

WE ARE LIVING WELL

Who: Steve & Gloria Stanforth
Port: Quad Cities, IL.