MangoandMe

14 December 2012
30 June 2012 | ASCENSION ISLAND
30 June 2012 | ASCENSION ISLAND
04 June 2012
28 May 2012 | St Helena, South Atlantic Ocean
28 May 2012 | St Helena, South Atlantic Ocean
25 May 2012 | Riviera Beach, Florida
23 May 2012 | Riviera Marina, Riviera Beach FL
23 May 2012 | Riviera Beach Marina, Riviera Beach, Florida
19 May 2012 | En route to Riviera Beach, Florida
18 May 2012 | En route to Riviera Beach, Florida
17 May 2012 | En route to Riviera Beach, Florida
16 May 2012 | En route to Riviera Beach, Florida
15 May 2012 | En route to Riviera Beach, Florida
14 May 2012 | En route to Florida
13 May 2012 | Destination:Riviera Beach Marina, Riviera Beach, Florida
12 May 2012 | Destination:Florida
11 May 2012 | On the way to the Caribbean

AMUSED AT THE SURFER RE "STOPPING SHEARWATER"

17 July 2010 | tahiti
david
I am amused at the surfer guy who is getting 'windspeed' and 'speed over ground' completely mixed up. Its understandable... as he has neither computation on his surfboard.

But just for the record, when I say "shearwater unchanged but reaching 15 knots sporadically" I mean the speed of Shearwater over ground(the bottom) - SOG...."

When I say: "I studied the 'windspeed' indicator and made the decision that as soon as I saw a '19 knot' I would instantly head her into wind." I mean...well ....what else 'wind speed'

And lastly, the fact he would indicate, believe, dream, imagine that I was under full sail with 35 knots WINDSPEED is testlmony to his usual activity which is absent any sails. And further and more ludicrously that Shearwater GOES 35 knots ...well what can I say...the fastest I have ever been on her is 22 knots down the face of a wave for 10 seconds.

But, I do appreciate his intense and studied interest in my sailing.

Anyway, now that we have SOG and WINDSPEED cleared up I will be using both numbers tomorrow as I head out of Tahiti direct for Tonga-1000 miles.

Weather seems to be in order for a relatively peaceful departure and I will .....be on THIRD REEF ...to start....the least sail up.



Comments
Vessel Name: Shearwater
Vessel Make/Model: CONSER 47 Racer/Cruiser Catamaran
Hailing Port: West Palm Beach Florida
Crew: MANGO AND ME
About:
Mango is a smart, funny, sensitive and totally unique wheaton/sheepdog. . He is my partner on this patently undoglike voyage but remains cheerful about the whole affair. [...]
Extra: Shearwater is a 47 foot, very sleek and light catamaran. She is part of a fleet of 11 that were built - its a sister ship of Shearwater that holds the unofficial speed record. 31 knots! Of the this fleet, only one has flipped...so we are on the side of good odds!

Who: MANGO AND ME
Port: West Palm Beach Florida