MangoandMe

14 December 2012
30 June 2012 | ASCENSION ISLAND
30 June 2012 | ASCENSION ISLAND
04 June 2012
28 May 2012 | St Helena, South Atlantic Ocean
28 May 2012 | St Helena, South Atlantic Ocean
25 May 2012 | Riviera Beach, Florida
23 May 2012 | Riviera Marina, Riviera Beach FL
23 May 2012 | Riviera Beach Marina, Riviera Beach, Florida
19 May 2012 | En route to Riviera Beach, Florida
18 May 2012 | En route to Riviera Beach, Florida
17 May 2012 | En route to Riviera Beach, Florida
16 May 2012 | En route to Riviera Beach, Florida
15 May 2012 | En route to Riviera Beach, Florida
14 May 2012 | En route to Florida
13 May 2012 | Destination:Riviera Beach Marina, Riviera Beach, Florida
12 May 2012 | Destination:Florida
11 May 2012 | On the way to the Caribbean

I HAD HOPED...BUT THE BOW DIVED

21 June 2011 | PEARL BAY, Australia
david
Day 6 since leaving mainland, Australia. After a long 9 months in Australia, first trying to sell the boat then waiting for cyclone season to end and then getting Shearwater prepared, 'I had hoped' for a calm departure sort of easing into my sea legs comfortably and slowly. Watching all the weather forecasts from the Australian Bureau of Meteorology and all, in effect, giving a thumbs up, a 'go' if you will, I set out. It was not good - within the first 24 hours, I hit the worst weather and situation of all the miles I have sailed. High winds, high waves, nasty confused seas met us as I attempted to go on the outside of the Great Barrier Reef. Warps (long lines thrown off the back of the boat) and drogues (parachute like creature that is also thrown off the back of the boat)finally had to be deployed to get the situation under control. Shearwater was exuberant and wild and well, I will post a description of what happened with some footage that I took when I get to internet in about a week or so-destination Cairns.

But for now, I am in an idyllic bay named Pearl Bay, resting and ruminating on what happened and the greater knowledge I gained between man, boat and the sea.

I had hoped to go outside the reef all the way to Cairns, no stops. But the storm forced another plan, to go inside. So, a series of hops will be undertaken - only day sails. There is simply too much traffic and that coupled with numerous islands and reefs dotted everywhere, make it very inadvisable to night sail, especially alone.

So tomorrow I head to stop # 2 which will be either Hexam Island or Middle Percy Island.

NOTE ON THE BLOG: Apparently Sailblogs.net was attached by a hacker and the whole site went down. I apologise for any inconvenience and especially to those who might have contracted the virus. I am told now the site is back up and safe.
Comments
Vessel Name: Shearwater
Vessel Make/Model: CONSER 47 Racer/Cruiser Catamaran
Hailing Port: West Palm Beach Florida
Crew: MANGO AND ME
About:
Mango is a smart, funny, sensitive and totally unique wheaton/sheepdog. . He is my partner on this patently undoglike voyage but remains cheerful about the whole affair. [...]
Extra: Shearwater is a 47 foot, very sleek and light catamaran. She is part of a fleet of 11 that were built - its a sister ship of Shearwater that holds the unofficial speed record. 31 knots! Of the this fleet, only one has flipped...so we are on the side of good odds!

Who: MANGO AND ME
Port: West Palm Beach Florida