MangoandMe

14 December 2012
30 June 2012 | ASCENSION ISLAND
30 June 2012 | ASCENSION ISLAND
04 June 2012
28 May 2012 | St Helena, South Atlantic Ocean
28 May 2012 | St Helena, South Atlantic Ocean
25 May 2012 | Riviera Beach, Florida
23 May 2012 | Riviera Marina, Riviera Beach FL
23 May 2012 | Riviera Beach Marina, Riviera Beach, Florida
19 May 2012 | En route to Riviera Beach, Florida
18 May 2012 | En route to Riviera Beach, Florida
17 May 2012 | En route to Riviera Beach, Florida
16 May 2012 | En route to Riviera Beach, Florida
15 May 2012 | En route to Riviera Beach, Florida
14 May 2012 | En route to Florida
13 May 2012 | Destination:Riviera Beach Marina, Riviera Beach, Florida
12 May 2012 | Destination:Florida
11 May 2012 | On the way to the Caribbean

THE NEXT STOP-SINGLEHANDED CONSIDERATIONS

20 July 2011 | Low Isles inside the Great Barrier Reef
david
It's a hot sunny day here in Low Isles, the seas are calm and the winds gentle at 10-15 knots. But I cant stay - I have to formulate a plan as to my next stop.

One thing I've learnt is that a singlehander has to apply a different standard to navigation than a crewed boat. How many times do I hear sailors recommending this stop or that passage. But, upon studying the chart, I see that its fraught with peril, if...one is alone. No, as a singlehander, one must embrace a much more conservative standard.

My next stop illustrates this point - the choices are between a river, a cay and a bay.

Here are the two logical (and recommended) next stops: Cooktown or Hope Islands. Both are within easy reach during daylight, but both, for me, have problems that negate any further consideration. Cooktown is in essence up a shallow river. If Im lucky I might have foot or two of water below my keel. And, once one gets the anchor down, there will be very little swinging room both because of its shallowness and because it is reportedly crowded. And then there is the river's current. So I reject that one.

Hope Island, on the other hand, is an idyllic coral cay but, with a warning from the cruising guide: "Beware calm conditions with the sun too low for visual reef identification. Proceed with extreme caution up to and within the lagoon." Well, that means there are coral heads in every direction. So, since I cant be both on the bow for 'visual identification' and at the controls at the same time, it cancels this spot, albeit an 'idyllic' anchorage.

So, that leaves the third choice - a bay behind Cape Bedford. This too has a problem - it's the furthest away at 70 miles. If I wait to start at daylight, there is a good possibility that I wont make it by dusk. Navigating into an unknown anchorage at night with other vessels scattered about, some with no lights, buoys with no lights etc. etc. make this also, a 'must NOT do'.

So here is the final plan: Despite its distance, I will indeed head for Cape Bedford but I will leave at 1 or 2 AM. Using my electronic 'eyes' I can get out of this anchorage easily as there is, in essence, nothing behind me. With a bed time of 6 pm., I will be fully awake at that early hour to navigate up the channel safely. And upon daylight, well, hopefully a lovely sail.

Three choices, two recommended, none ideal, only one that's prudent, given my single-handed status. See you at Cape Bedford!
Comments
Vessel Name: Shearwater
Vessel Make/Model: CONSER 47 Racer/Cruiser Catamaran
Hailing Port: West Palm Beach Florida
Crew: MANGO AND ME
About:
Mango is a smart, funny, sensitive and totally unique wheaton/sheepdog. . He is my partner on this patently undoglike voyage but remains cheerful about the whole affair. [...]
Extra: Shearwater is a 47 foot, very sleek and light catamaran. She is part of a fleet of 11 that were built - its a sister ship of Shearwater that holds the unofficial speed record. 31 knots! Of the this fleet, only one has flipped...so we are on the side of good odds!

Who: MANGO AND ME
Port: West Palm Beach Florida