MangoandMe

14 December 2012
30 June 2012 | ASCENSION ISLAND
30 June 2012 | ASCENSION ISLAND
04 June 2012
28 May 2012 | St Helena, South Atlantic Ocean
28 May 2012 | St Helena, South Atlantic Ocean
25 May 2012 | Riviera Beach, Florida
23 May 2012 | Riviera Marina, Riviera Beach FL
23 May 2012 | Riviera Beach Marina, Riviera Beach, Florida
19 May 2012 | En route to Riviera Beach, Florida
18 May 2012 | En route to Riviera Beach, Florida
17 May 2012 | En route to Riviera Beach, Florida
16 May 2012 | En route to Riviera Beach, Florida
15 May 2012 | En route to Riviera Beach, Florida
14 May 2012 | En route to Florida
13 May 2012 | Destination:Riviera Beach Marina, Riviera Beach, Florida
12 May 2012 | Destination:Florida
11 May 2012 | On the way to the Caribbean

I DONT LIKE THE OCEAN!

17 September 2011 | 3-4 days from Rodriquez
david
I have been rather negative the last few days. In trying to root out the possible causes and regain my optimistic stature I continually seem to come back to the same entity, not surprisingly, the ocean that surrounds me. But, why? Don't I love the ocean? I grew up next to it, played in it, its exquisite surf, watched endlessly the uniqueness of each wave as it unfolded, as it came roaring to shore, the colors, the sound, the feeling, etc etc etc...all was a pleasure to living, all was there to be absorbed and embraced as something indescribably delicious.

Until, that is... it becomes a threat. Then all bets are off.

Last week as the weather continued to deteriorate, I quickly assumed a defensive posture that saw me looking out upon that same ocean with the instincts of a cornered rat. Where was that beauty now? That...that...But, all that I saw was the face of malevolence. As I gazed off into the distance, that enormous mountain of water as it made its way inexorably toward us, so majestic, so grand...before... but now oozing with a threatening aggressiveness. What havoc would it bring? Rush the boat from the back, her 'exquisite' surf filling the cockpit? Or, a direct path to the bimini protecting life and electronics? Or, as many before, would it yield that all too familiar unfolding progression: hit the side of the boat, lift that hull, disappear under, slam the bridge deck, hit the other hull, lift it and continue on, as though nothing had happened? Lovely sounds? Lovely feelings? Oh yes, that roar that it carries within it's belly only to be heard a moment before it scores a direct hit leaving Shearwater shuddering to the very core of her fiberglass bones. Im afraid I could not see much beauty in any of it. I DONT LIKE THE OCEAN

But, today the weather has improved and as I look out upon the vastness of what surrounds me...well, I have to admit...I can see again...just a little magnificence creeping back in.
Comments
Vessel Name: Shearwater
Vessel Make/Model: CONSER 47 Racer/Cruiser Catamaran
Hailing Port: West Palm Beach Florida
Crew: MANGO AND ME
About:
Mango is a smart, funny, sensitive and totally unique wheaton/sheepdog. . He is my partner on this patently undoglike voyage but remains cheerful about the whole affair. [...]
Extra: Shearwater is a 47 foot, very sleek and light catamaran. She is part of a fleet of 11 that were built - its a sister ship of Shearwater that holds the unofficial speed record. 31 knots! Of the this fleet, only one has flipped...so we are on the side of good odds!

Who: MANGO AND ME
Port: West Palm Beach Florida