Marica goes clockwise

Vessel Name: Marica
16 December 2017 | Slipper Sailing Club
08 November 2017 | South coast
07 November 2017 | Newhaven
06 November 2017 | Beachy Head
05 November 2017 | Rye
04 November 2017 | Rye
03 November 2017 | Rye
02 November 2017 | South Coast
01 November 2017 | Thames Estuary
31 October 2017 | Harwich
30 October 2017 | Southwold
27 October 2017 | North Sea
25 October 2017 | Lincolnshire Coast
18 October 2017 | Yorkshire Coast
17 October 2017 | Bridlington
16 October 2017 | Flamborough Head
15 October 2017 | Whitby
12 October 2017 | Yorkshire coast
10 October 2017 | Geordieland
09 October 2017 | England!
Recent Blog Posts
16 December 2017 | Slipper Sailing Club

Epiblog

I met fellow Westerly Centaur owner Tom Bedford in Milford Haven. As it turns out we also share a fondness for real ale and the band Steely Dan. Tom is a freelance journalist and when I got back to Emsworth he suggested writing an article about my trip. I agreed without too much reticence and he sent [...]

08 November 2017 | South coast

From Shoreham

I checked the live wind at Chichester Bar this morning on the Chimet web site. Force 4 northerly. Hey! we could go somewhere, Little Hampton (LA) or even further. I might just make it for the 9 o'clock lock out. I called them and they said I would be going out of the smaller Prince George lock. I had [...]

07 November 2017 | Newhaven

From Newhaven

On Tuesday morning we wake to a southerly force 6. The sea state was expected to be 'moderate' and waves were crashing over the harbour breakwater. George and I had porridge and reviewed the situation. He decided caution was the better part of valour and I walked him to the train station.

06 November 2017 | Beachy Head

From Rye

My dad joined me on a frosty Monday morning for our leg from Rye. His name is George so he is the original George according to my sister, or he is George V for this trip. I thought Eastbourne would be a suitable port to make for, and could be completed in daylight hours. Dad had suggested Newhaven so [...]

05 November 2017 | Rye

More water problems

I started the engine this morning, whilst Marica was afloat, to check the repair on the throttle linkage. It was fine but there was no cooling water flowing through the engine. I assumed that mud was stuck in the inlet pipe. All the boats settle in this soft smelly stuff to the top of their keels. So [...]

04 November 2017 | Rye

Bailing Out

This morning (Saturday) I found the cutlery drawer full of water. It's just underneath the cooker. I was wondering where the water had come in last night. The boat had obviously been heeled over at a bigger angle at the top of the tide. There had been water in the washing up bowl, that I had not tested [...]

From Portpatrick

31 August 2017 | Scotland
NW 4, sunny
I resumed my search this morning to track down the harbour master to pay for my stay. Three chaps over from Bangor in Northern Island were convinced he would find me. It did not happen, so I made a donation to the RNLI and bought a tea towel showing all the lifeboat stations. I'm not in uncharted waters anymore.

I cast off at 12:30, a bit late to get the tide with me. The forecast was for force 3 to 4 North Westerly winds and calm waters. Getting out if the harbour it was suddenly rougher than I expected. I thought I was on a sheltered Scottish coast. However, Inspecting my new chart I could see we were in the North Passage between Scotland and Ireland and completely exposed to North West winds.

The wind was against until we turned the corner near Stranraer. I then put up the sails and had a cracking tack all the way to Girvan. Rounding the corner the imposing sight of the island of Ailsa Craig appeared. I'd not been prepared to witness such a majestic lump of rock.

I motored in to the harbour at Girvan with the sun setting behind Ailsa Craig, what a view. The visitor berths are on finger pontoons and were fairly empty. I chose a slot without a boat next to it and motored in slowly. All good, and now reverse to kill the speed. The engine stalled. Not enough time to restart it, so I managed to hook the stern line round a cleat and tried to slow Marica down. The rope pulled through my hands and burned a little. The boat did stop though before ploughing into the jetty.

When I tried to leave the marina I found a button to open the gate but no sign of an entry code. I tried calling the harbour master. No reply. I looked to see if entry could be regained in any other way and saw a possible route. I took my hand held VHF with me in case I could call on the radio to find the code.

I found the local pub, The Harbour Bar - call me Magellan. The saloon was shut and there were two chaps insulting each other very loudly in the bar. They kept calling each other caddy, a term that I think means a low paid job, but I'm not sure. I asked what draft beers were on. Something called Caledionia Best and Tennents something. I opted for the former. It was a cask ale and appears to have a pedigree stretching back as far as 2011, and is also brewed by Tennents. It was only £3 and not unpalatable, but that's the best that can be said for it. Guinness and a selection of draft ciders were also on offer. I decided a couple of 'Bests' should be my limit as I had some climbing to do to get back to the boat.
Comments

About & Links