S/V Mari Hal-O-Jen

Though we travel the world over to find the beautiful, we must carry it with us or we find it not. ~Ralph Waldo Emerson

31 December 2010
28 December 2010
23 December 2010
21 December 2010
20 December 2010
16 December 2010
15 December 2010
14 December 2010
13 December 2010
10 December 2010
09 December 2010
07 December 2010
06 December 2010
03 December 2010
01 December 2010
24 November 2010
23 November 2010

Kansas City Irish Fest

10 September 2006
With the delay of our flight due to TS Ernesto, Marianna and I were able to spend the long Labor Day weekend in Kansas City enjoying the KC Irish Fest. Hurray! What a kickin' time! A 'sea' of green greeted us, fab music was floating on the air and the odor of fish and chips lured us right away to the vendors. As a fresh batch was due any instant, we placed our order. Boy, did we erupt in laughter when we picked up our basket! Not only was it in a basket and not wrapped in newspaper, but the chips were Lay's Potato Chips! No matter how we drenched them in vinegar, it just wasn't quite the same.



Seven Nations is a crazy Florida based band that is unlike quite anything we'd ever heard before! I'd like to point out that the man second from the left is a tremendous fiddle player who happened to have sprained his ankle and hurt his knee in Nova Scotia the weekend previous when he fell off the stage while Stepping but it hasn't slowed him down a bit, he is still reeling - check out his feet. Crazy-Blurred! I cannot think of another band out there where a member would stop and lace on ghillies before jigging!

Try the MP3 Preview of The Paddy Set at eFolkMusic, (search Seven Nations there, link won't work) but be forewarned, this involves bagpipes, yes, but also electric guitars, drums, fiddle and probably even the tin whistle, but not combined in a traditional manner at all. It is quite odd to see a sea of green clad folk headbanging to pipes!

The band that we did not get to stay for and have been bemoanin' ever since is KC's own Elders. Wow! Amazing original music, download Men of Erin, for sure. Just do it. You too, Dad - even you will adore this song!


We three returned early Sunday for a packed outdoor Mass. Fushia's singing was definitely a highlight. Again, more downloads here, though regrettably, none from the Mass itself. I thought it was tremendous to have bits of the Mass sung acapella by a man who was obviously familiar with it - i.e. didn't need papers that blow away, or even a microphone, actually! When it quit for a bit he just stepped away and continued very clearly. The best part had to be Communion though. Fushia just grabbed their instruments after receiving Communion and began jamming with the other songsters while several thousand people waited in line. Not only are they good in a pub, Ladies and Gentlemen, they can improv at Mass!

What a wonderful time! I had so been missing our outdoor music festivals and concerts and Scottish Dancing fun, so this was the best of all of the above. Great music, fanatical people galore, local brew that was not dyed green, thank you very much, and two of my favorite people in the world to share in the fun!

Men of Erin
Lyrics by Ian Byrne

Fare thee well me boy as you wonder this night
Be not feared in the darkness my heart is your light
As you go brave Men of Erin
Faith and love by your side
I will dream of your peace in the night

Please don't cry my Mother as you sit by the hearth
I will dance your memories with joy in my heart
I will go now and pray as I travel this land
And live by the lessons you gave

Fair thee well me boy as you wonder this night
Be not feared in the darkness my heart is your light
As you go brave Men of Erin
Faith and love by your side
I will dream of your peace in the night

Please don't cry my Father as you sit by the hearth
I will dance your memories with joy in my heart
I will go now and pray as I travel this land
And live by the lessons you gave

Fair thee well me boy as you wonder this night
Be not feared in the darkness my heart is your light
As you go brave Men of Erin
Faith and love by your side
I will dream of your peace in the night

Please don't cry my Children
As you stand by my Grave
I have danced your memories all of my days
I will go now and pray as I travel this land
And live be the lessons you gave

� 2004 - The Elders


Comments
Vessel Make/Model: 35' Coronado
Hailing Port: Boca Chica
Crew: Capt. Hal, Jennifer, and our daughter Marianna, a great photographer!
Extra: Warmest Wishes!
Home Page: http://www.sailblogs.com/member/marihalojen/

S/V Mari Hal-O-Jen

Who: Capt. Hal, Jennifer, and our daughter Marianna, a great photographer!
Port: Boca Chica
Faith Arithmetic Reading Writing Exercise Beauty