S/V Mari Hal-O-Jen

Though we travel the world over to find the beautiful, we must carry it with us or we find it not. ~Ralph Waldo Emerson

31 December 2010
28 December 2010
23 December 2010
21 December 2010
20 December 2010
16 December 2010
15 December 2010
14 December 2010
13 December 2010
10 December 2010
09 December 2010
07 December 2010
06 December 2010
03 December 2010
01 December 2010
24 November 2010
23 November 2010

A Picture of a Meme!

01 August 2007
Elizabeth has tagged me along with many other Jennifers, who knew there would be so many of us who would choose homeschooling? It is the funniest thing!

A Picture of Now, Between Past and Future.

1.a. Describe your outfit.
A new-to-me white baby tee with a cool lavender and teal grograin-style ribbon around the neck. I had on my new skirt I sewed last week, but as I wore it around this morning I decided it was too long. So I took it off and am hoping to shorten the waistband area by half this afternoon.

b. What associations does the main color invoke?
Various Lavenders with other Sherbet hued stripes simply scream SUMMER, of course!

c. Is there a memory associated with this outfit (or part of it)?
I suppose so. I bought the dress for the stripes alone. I mean, it was on clearance, it had stripes, clearly we were meant to be together, right? Never mind the fact that the top was the most unflattering, ugly thing I'd seen in years. I knew a little scissor action would take care of that!

Now I think of sewing in the cockpit with the seabreeze gently blowing each time I see my skirt. :)

2.a. Are you listening to music?
One of Strauss' Vienna Waltzes is blasting out of the speakers right now. Why is it that Strauss sounds best cranked high? I wonder if it has anything to do with having attended the Strauss Festival as a kid in California?

b. Was this intentional?
Strauss is very summery music but I have to admit Sirius Pops chose it this time, not me. Though I did choose Classical music for writing to. Helps me concentrate.

c. What does the music make you remember?
Obviously the Festival and the waltzing couples reflected in the lake but also making cookies in the summertime with the windows open and the breeze blowing in and swooping across the kitchen with a wooden spoon for a partner!

3.a. Describe the objects within arms' reach.
Laptop, obviously, cell phone too, and water glass half full. Basic uninteresting things. But also my new green planning binder that I am putting together and my journal and calendar, a card from my husband from our anniversary and my copy of Jeppesen's Open Water Sport Diver Manual. Sunglasses and purple swim noodles.

b. Choose one object and tell where you acquired it.
I bought the pair of swim noodles to use as chafe gear on the standing rigging, just need to cut and slice them and apply now!

c. On the whole, are the objects new (memory blanks) or old (memory filled)?
Wow, I think I've got a nice blend of memory blanks which would be the items used for planning that then become memory filled as those plans come to fruition.

4.a. What room are you in?
The saloon at the base of the companionway. The wind is blowing strongly today and Marianna is in the cockpit brushing her hair while holding her reading book open with her toes.

b. To what extent is it yours?
This area is the main room, the central gathering point from all parts of the boat, fore and aft, topsides and below. It shows all three of our influences quite clearly.

c. What kind of memories will you have in the future of this room?
Joyous memories.

5. What were you doing before starting this post, and what would you like to do next?
I had just eaten a wrap and blueberries for lunch and will defrost and clean the fridge next, it is the first of the month, after all! Hopefully while the freezer is dripping away I can work on my skirt.

I tag Cay, Karen, and Kathyrn. Even if I didn't link to you but you are inspired, consider yourself tagged!





*****************************************


Day Three
The 10 Objectives for today:

1. Name the tow principal materials used in the manufacture of SCUBA tanks.
2. State how frequently your SCUBA tank should be visually inspected.
3. State how frequently your SCUBA tank should be hydrostatically tested.
4. Explain the meanings of the markings required on SCUBA tanks.
5. Explain the regulator selection process.
6. Expalin the need for and placement of an "octopus" regulator.
7. State the air source alternatives to an octopus regulator.
8. Explain and demonstrate the steps in attaching a regulator to a tank.
9. Demonstrate how to place a regulator in your mouth and clear the regulator.
10. Explain the purpose of the Buddy System.

There are two basic types of surface dives. Practice the Head-First and the Feet-First dives today.

*****************************************

Comments
Vessel Make/Model: 35' Coronado
Hailing Port: Boca Chica
Crew: Capt. Hal, Jennifer, and our daughter Marianna, a great photographer!
Extra: Warmest Wishes!
Home Page: http://www.sailblogs.com/member/marihalojen/

S/V Mari Hal-O-Jen

Who: Capt. Hal, Jennifer, and our daughter Marianna, a great photographer!
Port: Boca Chica
Faith Arithmetic Reading Writing Exercise Beauty