S/V Mari Hal-O-Jen

Though we travel the world over to find the beautiful, we must carry it with us or we find it not. ~Ralph Waldo Emerson

31 December 2010
28 December 2010
23 December 2010
21 December 2010
20 December 2010
16 December 2010
15 December 2010
14 December 2010
13 December 2010
10 December 2010
09 December 2010
07 December 2010
06 December 2010
03 December 2010
01 December 2010
24 November 2010
23 November 2010

Sewing the Day Away

17 June 2008


I set the sewing machine up today and gathered my pile of projects. Let's see how many I can complete today!

I'll try to update as I go along.

********************




First up is this totally cute blouse that has the unfortunate tendency to gap-gap-gap between the buttons.



I cut about 2 inches below the lower belt seam.



Then I folded and straight-stitched two seams, one just below the belt area which will now have a crisp finish and the second on the interior of the shirt. I simply finger-pressed the excess material up to the upper belt seam and straight-stitched the two together.

I hope that made sense...here it is completed!



With my fav retro dress, I pulled the polka dot ribbon through the belt loops and I really like how it looks!



And with a second dress. I found some thinnish grograin ribbon that I'll leave on for most of the time. I think this is the perfect solution for the summer and all those empire-waist sundresses that are out and about this year. I can slip this light cotton top on and not freeze in Mass now!

********************




Next up was a girl's dress that I found somewhere and loved the stripes! I am such a stripes and polka dots girl. :) But, as I said above, it was a girl's dress with a wierd little tie jacket sewn on the front and puff paint pansies.

Out came the scissors and off came the odd bodice.



Leaving a cute skirt that's nice a stretchy and cool being made out of nothing more than cotton t-shirt material. Sewing-wise I simply tightened the waist abit along the side seams.

Sorry for the incredibly odd pose, I was trying to balance the camera on the combing of the cockpit.

********************




You saw this dress above with the little spencer jacket but it needed a little tightening on the back smocked area and I raised the front from a plunging to a not quite so low neckline by cutting the looping piece of material that was gathering the material into a V and resewing it looser.



Do you know how hard it is to take a picture of your back? I have too many shots like this.

Comments
Vessel Make/Model: 35' Coronado
Hailing Port: Boca Chica
Crew: Capt. Hal, Jennifer, and our daughter Marianna, a great photographer!
Extra: Warmest Wishes!
Home Page: http://www.sailblogs.com/member/marihalojen/

S/V Mari Hal-O-Jen

Who: Capt. Hal, Jennifer, and our daughter Marianna, a great photographer!
Port: Boca Chica
Faith Arithmetic Reading Writing Exercise Beauty