S/V Mari Hal-O-Jen

Though we travel the world over to find the beautiful, we must carry it with us or we find it not. ~Ralph Waldo Emerson

31 December 2010
28 December 2010
23 December 2010
21 December 2010
20 December 2010
16 December 2010
15 December 2010
14 December 2010
13 December 2010
10 December 2010
09 December 2010
07 December 2010
06 December 2010
03 December 2010
01 December 2010
24 November 2010
23 November 2010

That Liturgical Planner I've Mentioned Once or Twice

27 June 2008
Having mentioned my personal summer project of Planning Liturgically a few times, I thought I'd go ahead and share!
Isn't that what blogs are for? :)



First step of any project of mine to ensure it being used is to make it attractive. Pretty sailboat picture that makes me smile and want to drop docklines counts in this case. It will also hopefully remind me as I plan that I live on a sailboat so Keep It Simple Sweetie!



Open up the binder and the divider page for June is front and center. I've decorated each of the months with appropriate and pretty pictures that look like that season would a thousand or so miles north of here. Because, honestly? there would be very little change to differentiate each month here otherwise.



Those divider pages are the coolest things I've seen in a very long time, so simple and yet so useful!



The page behind each monthly divider page is a simple plain jane piece of paper where I scrawl pertinent feast days and the monthly dedication. Last year I used a forever calendar but that fell apart when Easter was so early this year that it bumped alot of Holy Days around. A second problem for me with a calendar is that I start thinking in a grid-like manner, keeping it open and the ideas flowing is more important to me at this stage. The calendar comes into play much later in the planning now.



Next up, in chronological order, is the info I've gathered for each day. It might be a recipe as in this example for Saint Martha's Feast Day with additional notes on post-its or...



a simple craft as in this example for Saints Peter and Paul this Sunday. The beauty of the binder/divider system is that as I find info I can quickly add it in rather like Dawn's File System but smaller and not so prone to being dumped out if we heel over.



Sprinkled throughout this section are more of my simple plain jane pages with more detailed notes scrawled upon them and additional recipes that didn't get ripped from a magazine like these two examples from St. John the Baptist's a few days ago and Sts. Peter and Paul coming up on Sunday.



This system is working marvelously so far but certain time periods simply won't fit into the one-inch binders I had around the boat. Like Advent/Christmas. That definitely gets its own personal one-inch binder!



Which is filling up nicely, don't you think? I love pondering the holidays when the heat index is 180 outside. Gives me a nice chilly feeling!

Well, I hope this was at least as clear as mud! Have a wonderful Friday and I'll leave you with a little poem since it is Poetry Friday out in the blog-o-sphere.

"There is no season such delight can bring,
As summer, autumn, winter and the spring
."
~ William Browne, 1630, Variety

Comments
Vessel Make/Model: 35' Coronado
Hailing Port: Boca Chica
Crew: Capt. Hal, Jennifer, and our daughter Marianna, a great photographer!
Extra: Warmest Wishes!
Home Page: http://www.sailblogs.com/member/marihalojen/

S/V Mari Hal-O-Jen

Who: Capt. Hal, Jennifer, and our daughter Marianna, a great photographer!
Port: Boca Chica
Faith Arithmetic Reading Writing Exercise Beauty