meredithcbi

Vessel Name: Cape Breton Island Clipper
Vessel Make/Model: 68 ft Clipper
17 July 2010 | Hull, England
16 July 2010 | off the coast of England
16 July 2010 | Holland
13 July 2010 | Ijmuiden, Holland
13 July 2010 | Ireland
10 July 2010 | Ireland
28 June 2010 | Kinsale, Ireland
25 June 2010 | Mid-Atlantic
21 June 2010 | Crossing the Atlantic
19 June 2010 | Sydney Harbour
18 June 2010 | Sydney, NS
17 June 2010 | home!
12 June 2010
09 June 2010 | A day from Cape Breton
07 June 2010 | Cape Breton Bound
06 June 2010 | Departing New York
03 June 2010 | New York City
02 June 2010 | New York
29 May 2010 | New York bound
Recent Blog Posts
17 July 2010 | Hull, England

The Fat Lady Sang

4th position..... That's where we finished race 14, the final race! With the winds getting lighter and lighter, we were quickly losing boat speed, and before I finished my night watch.... Australia had over taken us, and Qingdao was breathing down our neck!

16 July 2010 | off the coast of England

Blog 22 - Almost There!

I know this is my second post for today... But I forgot to mention the advantage we had over Jamaica since this morning! We watched them blow out their spinny right in front of us!! It was spectacular sight! Sad for them.... Helpful to us!

16 July 2010 | Holland

Blog 21 - Pulling Away

After our disastrous start to this race, and fight upwind through the wind farms last evening, we managed to gain some mileage back on our competitors! On my night shift, we flew our heavy weight spinnaker in what even I(known as Spinnaker Woman at home) would call 'testy' conditions!

15 July 2010 | Holland

Blog 20 - Windmills, Clogs, and Race Start

Well here we are in IJumuiden, Holland (about 40 minutes outside Amsterdam). This was a short stopover, and really only scheduled as a muster point for the fleet after Cork, and before we head to the grand finale in Hull. Our race into Ijmuiden was much faster than anticipated. Therefore the crews had [...]

13 July 2010 | Ijmuiden, Holland

Blog 19 - Holding Strong - 3rd place AGAIN!

Holding Strong

13 July 2010 | Ireland

Blog 18 - WELL over due blog

ok... so keeping up with the blogs is NOT as eay as I thought it would be. I have one on the boat which I need to email and then post. it belongs here... im trying to stay on top of them to keep you all as well informed as possible. you would think when on shore it would be easy, but without a laptop [...]

Blog 12 - Leap of Faith

18 June 2010 | Sydney, NS
Meredith Macneill
What an amazing experience.... Travis, I owe you BIG!!

Blog 12 - skydiving!

What can I say?!?! It was the highlight of my clipper experience to date! Being selected to jump from a plane strapped to a handsome military officer, what more could anyone ask, right?

It took some convincing, but I brought my mom to the airport to watch! I told her she would rather be there if something went wrong than to get a phone call and be 30 mins away! Haha! Slightly not a very appropriate joke, but she came with me!

And all I can say is that it was an incredible experience and I would do it again in a heartbeat! The jump took place at Sydney airport, where the Canadian military Sky Hawks were practicing some jumps before they did their air show over the government wharf later that day! We climbed in this tiny little aircraft to 12500 feet and then a few other SkyHawks jumped to practice their stunts, and last out of the plane were myself and Officer Travis Hegland! We free fell for 43 seconds, and deployed the parachute around 8,000. We slowly sailed down, while we took in the view of Cape Breton Island! It was spectacular! At 4000feet, I could see New Waterford wind farm, Sydney Harbour, and pin point Hull & Humber out for a sail! I could see clear as day CBU and its soccer field, and everything else around the Sydney area! I did try to see my house, but we were not quite high enough at that time! We sailed around a little doing a few turns and swoops before we came in for a smooth landing on the grassy strip in front of the airport!

As some may know I wanted to skydive for a while now, but never had anyone to go with! I was so fortunate to be able to do it with the safety of the military, for free and in Cap Breton! Where I could see and pick out things that were significant to me! I loved it!

After, mom and I went to the fiddle to see their show, and I had the team sign a poster for my classroom! I know I will be telling this story quite a few times over the next few years!
Comments

About & Links