Midnight Breeze

The Adventure Continues: 1.5 Years and Counting;We're Almost There! Join Us for That Final Push.

About Us

Who: Dave and Mary
Port: Annapolis, MD
19 April 2012 | Pikeville, MD
21 January 2012 | Annapolis
03 November 2011 | Bay Bridge Marina
15 October 2011 | Pikesville, MD
23 September 2011 | Bay Bridge Marina
04 September 2011 | Bay Bridge Marina
27 August 2011 | Pikesville, MD
27 August 2011 | Stevensville, MD
25 August 2011 | Stevensville, MD
23 July 2011 | Solomons Island
16 July 2011 | Chesapeak Bay
16 July 2011 | St. Michaels
16 July 2011 | St. Michaels
15 July 2011 | St. Michaels
23 June 2011 | Miles River
11 June 2011 | Miles River
21 May 2011 | Annpolis
21 May 2011
28 February 2011 | Annapolis, MD

She's New But Not Ours Yet!

11 January 2011 | Marion, S.C.
Dave/Snowing!
Stardate 01112011.2021
It's been almost a month since my last post but I finally have something to talk about. Over the New Year holiday Mary and I went down to Marion, S.C. to visit the Beneteau factory. If you ever get a chance to visit do not pass it up its well worth the time, effort and money to see how these boats are made. It is amazing how they transform pieces of fiberglass cloth into some of the most beautiful boats on the water. Our tour took us through each stage of the process from making of the hull to tank testing the final product. While the hull is being formed the inside compartments are being cut by computer stacked on a push cart and labeled. This complete "KIT" is then waiting for the completed hull. It is really something how the process is refined to an art form in itself. As we were approaching the end of the assembly line we noticed a 43 in its final stages of assembly. I looked at the sheet on the transom of the boat and it said haul 92 "MCANALL" hey that's my name and my boat. As you can see by the pictures we were one happy couple. Our boat was getting ready for tank testing and final prep. A few days after getting home I get a call from my sales rep saying the boat has been shipped and is due in January 13th and that we need to set a closing date. I was hoping for a later closing date, hate paying on the boat when I can't use it! Plus I was hoping to save an extra few bucks since we had already sold the old Midnight Breeze. Then the part I really hate starts. I get a call from my lender saying she needs updated financial records before closing. I went through this with the house I bought and it's the worst thing that has ever happened to me. Here is what really gets to me. Three months ago we get "PREAPPROVED" after sending all our financial info to them. I get the request for updated information and in it they want me to have liquid assets in the amount that would carry me for a full year of payments. I look at the amount and hit the ceiling. It's far above my liquid assets that I had when I got approved. I called my lender and told her that I still have the same amount of assets as I had when I was preapproved what the hell is going on? She could not give me an answer. I told her then what she sees is what she gets. It's the same as when I got preapproved. So we are back in fax mode again faxing financials,email and phone calls. Now, don't get me wrong, our sales manager is great and I know she has to do what the bankers say. But I don't have to like it. Scott Finacial, whom I use, is first rate! It's not their fault they have to do all this digging. In fact after the recent financial crisis I can't blame the banks for being so cautious. I'll let you all know what happens after the 18th, our closing date.
The Saga continues!
Dave
Comments
Vessel Name: Midnight Breeze
Vessel Make/Model: 2011 Beneteau 43
Hailing Port: Annapolis, MD
Crew: Dave and Mary
About: Dave is from the junk food capital of the world--Hanover, Pa. Mary is from Pikesville, Md. We plan to outfit Midnight Breeze over the next 1.5 years while cruising the Chesapeake Bay. We'll then cast off our lines and head south for the adventure we have always dreamed of.
Extra: Join us on our path to retirement. Help us along the way with your ideas and suggestions. And just maybe, somewhere in time we shall meet. To quote a nice phrase..."We are going cruising not to escape from life but to keep life from escaping us." (Betsy Holman)

About Us

Who: Dave and Mary
Port: Annapolis, MD