Mysti-Cal Adventures

On an adventure

14 August 2017
13 August 2017 | Baddeck NS
13 August 2017 | Baddeck NS
20 August 2015
16 August 2015 | Indian Cove Washbuck river
16 August 2015 | Coulette Cove
15 August 2015 | Ramea Island Newfoundland and Labrador
14 August 2015 | Grey River
13 August 2015 | Aviron Newfoundland and Labrador
12 August 2015 | Fransois Newfoundand and Labrador Canada
11 August 2015 | Fransois Newfoundand and Labrador Canada
10 August 2015 | Hare Bay
09 August 2015 | Bay D'Espoir, McCallum Newfoundland and Labrador
07 August 2015 | Balden's Cove, Newfoundland & Labrador
06 August 2015 | Sagona Island, Newfoundland & Labrador
05 August 2015 | Fortune, Newfoundland & Labrador

Kato cat

02 August 2015 | St. Johns, Port Kirwan, Cape St. Mary's, St. Lawrence, St. Pierre & Miquelon
They kept me there on the boat for days and days, with all the loud people and loud machines. All night there were loud people and engines and such goings on. I wanted my quiet farm back.
Finally my boat left that loud place, but it rocked and went way up and down. I could see the water splashing up on her nose. I would not like that. I would not like to be walking out on her nose today. HE had to be tethered when he went out. I don't know how come HE does not get tangled. I tried to keep HER company in her lap while she drove my boat through the waves.

SHE took my boat to another wooden place, but it was very quiet there, so I let HER take me for a nice long walk along the shore. There were lots of plants with nice smells and all the ocean things that smelled so interesting too. I liked it here. It was quiet and smelled good. SHE took me back to my boat just as it started to get cold and wet. Water comes down from the sky sometimes.

I do not mind it, so I stayed out on my boat. Later I went in to see what food was in my dish and they shut the door so I could not get back out. I didn't mind because it was very windy outside and it was raining hard now.

The rain stayed all day the next day and the wind was very loud. My people stayed inside with me all day as my boat bounced around on the wooden thing. HE was worried. I could tell. HE did not play with me. SHE was OK. She petted me and sang to me. Not as good as purring but it will do. I don't like when HE is worried. I get worried. Finally they went to sleep so I could sleep too.

The wind was quiet when morning came. THEY got up and started my boat purring and we bounced away. I went up top with HER as she drove my boat and the sun came out. I lay in the sun on the bench beside HER and slept. I like the sun. Birds kept coming near my boat, but I warned them to stay away. We came near some very loud birds. There were too many of them all around. HE got out his wooden thing he likes to make purring sounds with, but got mad at me when I joined him. I can sing-purr too! I stayed out of the way, keeping those swarms of birds from coming near my boat. I warned them.

Soon we were back at one of the tall concrete and wood things. There were people and machines here too, but not so loud, and not so many of them. SHE took me for a walk here. There were many smells from out in the deep water. I know these smells. THEY tied me up on top of place where I could smell everything. One by one big machine things with humans in them came down and stopped beside my boat. I know they came to admire me. So I let them.

I liked it here. I went for many walks and met more people. I went into a little house with three female humans who petted me and talked to me. I climbed up on their tables and checked all their stuff. They liked me. I wanted to stay there but SHE made me go back to my boat, and then they left me there alone. There were some pieces of animal from deep in the water on my boat. I played with some of them. I don't know why they put them on my boat. They belong in the water.
Many machines with people came down to my boat. Some of the people looked in the window when my boat was up high. Did you know that my boat can go up high, where I can see the land and the houses and then can go low where I can see under the wooden thing? The water goes away and comes back. I do not know where it goes, but I think that is what makes so much water outside the people places. it goes there and makes the big waves.
When they came back they ate the water creatures. I did not want to eat them. I liked them.

In the morning I could not see outside. Everything was grey. THEY made my boat purr and then they took us out into the grey clouds. I could not see where we were going. I am sure they could not either. A long time went by while my boat went through the thick grey clouds, rolling up and down when suddenly the sun came out and it was warm. I purred.

The next place we came to had a tall wooden thing covered with little shells of creatures that made small sounds. My boat went up very high, and down low. More people in machines came to admire me as I walked along the top of the wooden thing. Loud children were there catching fish with sticks. They were very loud.
More people came to meet me.

Later when it was dark there were loud bangs and whistling sounds and the sky lit up with colours. Strange. I went to sleep. They did not take me for a walk.
When they took my boat away from the wooden thing the next morning I did not come up with them. I was not feeling well so I stayed in bed. All day. SHE was on her own today. I was tired.

We came to another place, and when the boat purring stopped I wanted to come up but SHE tied me tight down in the sleeping place. Suddenly four grown humans in black came on to my boat. I complained but they stayed and SHE would not let me come out to smell them. Only after they had gone and my boat was somewhere else did SHE untie me. Aha! I was free! But there was no where to go as my boat was surrounded by water. I ran around and played with HIM. HE was in a much better mood and was not worried.
They left me there and went off in my little boat, but they came back and HE played with me some more. HE even changed my litter!
Comments
Vessel Name: Mysti-Cal
Vessel Make/Model: Cal 2-46
Hailing Port: North Sydney Yacht Club, Nova Scotia Canada
Crew: Dave Curtis (RIP) , Krow Fischer, Kato Cat
About:
Dave Curtis fulfilled his lifelong dream of being a sailor, when he found a first mate willing to adventure. Krow has never sailed, and, pelican like, dove head first in. They took navigation, seamanship, radio operator, diesel mechanic, diving, and getting as much hands on as they could cram in. [...]
Extra:
Mysti-Cal is a good solid boat that we both loved. So much room inside, great live aboard with amazing storage and the view from the raised salon makes anchoring a beautiful thing! ! She feels like home no matter where she is. We had a big project getting her back into the shape she should be, [...]
Home Page: www.hereonearth.ca
Social:
Mysti-Cal's Photos - Main
July 14 and 15, 2015
No Photos
Created 15 July 2015
launching from Lewisporte Newfoundland and out through Notredame Bay
5 Photos
Created 10 July 2015
No Photos
Created 14 July 2014
Our travels through the Gros Morne area.
21 Photos
Created 14 July 2014
Our journey onwards to the point of crossing to Newfoundland.
32 Photos
Created 10 July 2014
From Tadussac ocross the river and onwards.
6 Photos
Created 7 July 2014
An experiment with gardening aboard..
3 Photos
Created 6 July 2014
Our stay over at Marina du Port de Quebec
13 Photos
Created 4 July 2014
Our journey through the locks and onward up the St. Lawrence.
20 Photos
Created 4 July 2014
Saturday June 28th was a great send off party from Waupoos Marina Folks. They will all forever be part of our journeys as we carry their well wishes and joyful souls with us! Thank you!
18 Photos
Created 4 July 2014